December 5, 2016

Pat Elflein Named a Finalist for the Rimington Trophy


Dec. 5, 2016

COLUMBUS, Ohio Pat Elflein, Ohio State’s standout captain and force on the offensive line, was today named a finalist for the Rimington Trophy, which is awarded annually to the outstanding center in the nation. Elflein, the Big Ten Conference’s Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year, is a finalist along with Tyler Orlosky of West Virginia and Ethan Pocic of LSU.

The winner of the Rimington Trophy will be presented live during the ESPNU Red Carpet Show on Thursday, December 8, 2016, immediately preceding the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show. Both shows originate from the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.

The Rimington Trophy is one of three major national awards that the 6-3, 300-pound Ohio State graduate is up for this year. He was previously was named a finalist for the Outland Trophy, awarded to the nation’s outstanding interior lineman, and he is among 20 under consideration for the Lombardi Award.

Last week Elflein, from Pickerington, Ohio and Pickerington North High School, was named a first-team all-Big Ten performer for the third consecutive year. A starter in 40 consecutive games, Elflein and Billy Price have been the anchors of an Ohio State offensive line that ranks ninth nationally in rushing at 258.3 yards per game and is one of three units selected as a finalist for the Joe Moore Offensive Line of the Year Award.

The winner of the Rimington Trophy is selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from three existing All-America teams. While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee used these three prestigious teams to determine a winner:  Walter Camp Foundation  Sporting News  Football Writers Association of America

The winner will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday, January 14, 2017. About the Rimington Trophy
The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the sixteen-year old award has raised over $2.75 million for the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $120 million for CF Research. Dave Rimington, the award’s namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy’s only two-time winner as the nation’s finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit