Aug. 16, 2011

2011 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State women’s soccer forward Paige Maxwell has been named to the MAC Hermann Trophy watch list, the Missouri Athletic Club announced Monday.

The senior from Medina, Ohio, is the reigning Offensive Player of the Year in the Big Ten after leading the Buckeyes and tying for second in the conference with 10 goals, including five game-winners, while adding a pair of assists. The 2010 NSCAA third team All-American has led the team in goals in each of her three seasons and ranks seventh in program history with 24 career goals.

It marks the third time in program history that a Buckeye was named to the Hermann Trophy watch list after Lara Dickenmann was selected in 2007 and Cassie Dickerson was chosen last season. The award is considered the highest individual honor in collegiate soccer.

Voting for the MAC Hermann Trophy is conducted in late November, when a field of 15 semifinalists is reduced to three finalists. Those three will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 6, 2012, where a news conference will be held to announce the winner, followed by a banquet to honor the three finalists.

The Buckeyes, ranked eighth nationally in the NSCAA preseason poll, open the 2011 campaign against Xavier at 7:30 p.m. Friday at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium.