April 27, 2019

OT Isaiah Prince Selected in 6th Round of 2019 NFL Draft


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State All-Big Ten Conference offensive tackle Isaiah Prince was selected in the sixth round of the 2019 NFL Draft by the Miami Dolphins. Prince is the second Buckeye offensive lineman taken this year as Michael Jordan was drafted earlier today in the fourth round by the Cincinnati Bengals. Ohio State has now had eight players drafted so far in this draft.

Prince, from Greenbelt, Md., and Eleanor Roosevelt High School, was a three-year starter at right tackle for the Buckeyes. He played in every game – 54 – over the past four seasons and started 41 consecutive games, starting with the first game of his freshman season in 2016.

A team captain as a senior, Prince earned first-team all-Big Ten Conference honors from the coaches this past season when the team was third in the Big Ten in fewest sacks allowed while setting Big Ten records for pass completions, yards and touchdowns. In his three years as a starter, Ohio State ranked second overall in the Big Ten and eighth among Power 5 teams in rushing.

Prince was a part of Ohio State teams that won consecutive Big Ten championships in 2017 and 2018 and had bowl game wins over No. 8 Notre Dame (2016 Fiesta Bowl), No. 8 USC (2018 Cotton Bowl) and No. 9 Washington (2019 Rose Bowl).

Prince was named third-team all-Big Ten Conference as a junior in 2017. He was majoring in sport industry, and he interned during the summer of 2018 with Ohio State’s social media and fan experience department as part of the Bucks-Go-Pro initiative.

Prince is the 10t Buckeye offensive lineman to be drafted in the last eight NFL Drafts, a stretch in which the Buckeyes have had a lineman taken in seven of the eight drafts. The Buckeyes have also developed multiple offensive linemen draft picks in consecutive years now.

Ohio State Offensive Lineman Drafted
2019: Michael Jordan – 4th round, Cincinnati
2019: Isaiah Prince – 6th, Miami
2018: Billy Price – 1st, Cincinnati
2018: Jamarco Jones – 3rd, Seattle
2017: Pat Elflein – 3rd, Minnesota
2016: Taylor Decker – 1st, Detroit
2014: Jack Mewhort – 2nd, Indianapolis
2014: Corey Linsley – 5th, Green Bay
2013: Reid Fragel – 7th, Cincinnati
2012: Mike Adams – 2nd, Pittsburgh