February 11, 2018

OSU Winter Invite – Day Two


Feb. 11, 2018

Final Results

Columbus, Ohio – The Ohio State swimmers closed out the regular season on Sunday at McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion with five gold medals in individual events to finish off the Ohio State Winter Invitational. The Buckeyes will now focus their efforts on postseason competition with the women hosting the Big Ten Championships Feb. 14-17, and the men will travel to Minneapolis, Minn., for the men’s conference meet (Feb. 21-24).

The Buckeyes amassed 65 personal best performances over the two-day Winter Invite at McCorkle. In addition to those 65 lifetime bests, 30 NCAA B cuts were swum and 22 performances that would have scored at the 2017 Big Ten Championships were registered.

Teo Chavez led a vicious effort in the 50 freestyle that saw Ohio State secure the top six spots. Chavez, only a freshman, dipped below the 20 second barrier for the first time in his career to claim gold with a 19.99. Andrew Loy (20.01/PR), Justin Dunn (20.31/PR), Michael Lynch (20.41), Clark Jackman (20.49/PR) and Justin Rich (20.55) picked up the following five spots.

Carson Burt (15:22.21/PR) and Austin Mortimer (15:29.28) went one-two in the men’s 1650 freestyle to get the finals session started. Both of their times were NCAA B cuts and would have scored at the 2017 Big Ten Championships. Burt has phenomenally shaved nearly 15 seconds off his career best swimming the event for only the third time in his career.

Evan Stapp secured his gold medal in the 200 backstroke with a readout of 1:47.65, and Ryan Wagner followed him closely with a time of 1:48.41 for silver. The highlight of the day for Stapp was his morning prelim swim in the event where he recorded a 1:45.69, which is an NCAA B cut.

Daniel Gloude capped his wonderful weekend in the pool with his second title, a win in the 200 butterfly. After winning the 400 individual medley on Saturday, he returned to the water on Sunday and set another personal-best time with a readout of 1:46.25 – that time is an NCAA B cut and was good enough to score at the 2017 conference meet.

The final event title of the day went to Evan McFadden in the 100 breaststroke. He lowered his career best from 2:02.13 to 1:59.34 on his way to gold and securing an NCAA B cut time. He was followed by Alex Jahan who also registered an NCAA B cut readout with a time of 1:59.55.

Devin Landstra capped her quality weekend with a bronze showing in the 50 freestyle clocking a time of 23.13. In the morning prelims session, she went sub 23 for the first time in her career with a 22.96. Freshman Laura Banks claimed a fourth-place finish in the 200 breaststroke clocking a career-best mark of 2:19.09.