April 20, 2018

OSU Clinches 13th-Straight B1G Title with 5-2 Win at Indiana


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The for the 13th-straight season, the Ohio State men’s tennis team is on top of the heap in the Big Ten as the Buckeyes clinched at least a share of the title with a 5-2 victory Friday afternoon at No. 46 Indiana.

The win keeps the Buckeyes undefeated in the conference at 10-0 and they are now 25-2 overall on the season. Ohio State is now just the sixth program in any sport in Big Ten history to win 13-straight league crowns.

The doubles point on Friday was a close one. Reigning Big Ten Player of the Week Mikael Torpegaard and John McNally got the first break of the match on court two with Raheel Manji and Zac Brodney to go up 5-4 and then held serve the next game for the 6-4 victory.

The Hoosier duo of Keivon Tabrizi and Bennett Crane on court one raced to a 4-1 lead on Martin Joyce and JJ Wolf and were serving for the match when Buckeyes Matt Mendez and Hunter Tubert broke on love to take the match 6-4 over Antonio Cembellin and Afonso Salgado on court three. That gave the Buckeyes the doubles point for the 12th-straight match.

In singles, Wolf got the second point of the match for the Buckeyes as he stormed past Tabrizi 6-2, 6-1. John McNally blew out to a 5-0 lead over Crane on court three before taking the opening set 6-1. He then won the second set 6-4 to push the lead to 3-0.

Freshman Tim Seibert would post the clinching point. After winning the first set 6-3, he went up a break midway through the second and then won a huge deuce point to take the second set 6-4.

The rest of the matches were played to completion. Kyle Seelig was down 5-2 in the first set with Brodney before winning five-straight games to take the set 7-5. He then used that momentum for a 6-2 win in the second set. Torpegaard dropped the opening set 6-2 to Cembellin but rallied to win the second 6-4. In the super-set, Cembellin was able to win the race to 10 and take the match 6-2, 4-6, 1-0 (8). The Hoosiers second point also came in a deciding super-set as Joyce split the first two sets with Brandon Lamb before falling 12-10 in the tiebreaker.

The Buckeyes will have a chance for the outright title and a third-straight undefeated Big Ten season on Sunday when they complete the regular season with a Noon match at Purdue.

#3 Ohio State 5, #46 Indiana 2

1. Antonio Cembellin (IND) def. #4 Mikael Torpegaard (OSU) 6-2, 4-6, 10-8
2. #36 JJ Wolf (OSU) def. Keivon Tabrizi (IND) 6-2, 6-1
3. #104 John McNally (OSU) def. Bennett Crane (IND) 6-1, 6-4
4. #82 Kyle Seelig (OSU) def. Zac Brodney (IND) 7-5, 6-2
5. Tim Seibert (OSU) def. Afonso Salgado (IND) 6-3, 6-4
6. Brandon Lam (IND) def. #99 Martin Joyce (OSU) 7-6 (7-5), 1-6, 12-10

1. Keivon Tabrizi/Bennett Crane (IND) vs. Martin Joyce/JJ Wolf (OSU) 5-3, unfinished
2. #78 Mikael Torpegaard/John McNally (OSU) def. Zac Brodney/Raheel Manji (IND) 6-4
3. Matt Mendez/Hunter Tubert (OSU) def. Antonio Cembellin/Afonso Salgado (IND) 6-4

Match Notes:
Ohio State 25-2; National ranking #3
Indiana 13-11; National ranking #46
Order of finish: Doubles (2,3); Singles (2,3,5,4,1,6)