April 27, 2019

OL Michael Jordan Selected in 4th Round of 2019 NFL Draft


COLUMBUS, Ohio – Michael Jordan, the All-American center for Ohio State this season after playing his first two seasons at guard, was selected in the fourth round of the 2019 NFL Draft by the Cincinnati Bengals. Jordan was the 136th overall pick in this draft and he increases Ohio State’s total to seven players now drafted this year.

The draft is being held in downtown Nashville, Tenn.

Jordan proved to be one of the top offensive linemen in the country as a true junior in 2018, earning first-team All-America honors by both CBS Sports and SI.com. After helping the Buckeyes to back-to-back Big Ten Conference championships in 2017 and 2018, and to wins over No. 9 Washington in the 2019 Rose Bowl and No. 8 USC in the 2018 Cotton Bowl, he elected to forego his final season of eligibility and declared for the NFL Draft.

In his three years as a starter, Ohio State ranked, cumulatively, second overall in the Big Ten and eighth among Power 5 teams in rushing yards per game.

Jordan played in every game between 2016 and 2018 – 41 in all – and started every one of them. In 2016, Jordan became the first true freshman to start along the Ohio State offensive line in 23 years, or since Orlando Pace did so in 1994. He is one of only six Ohio State Buckeyes to start an opening game as a true freshman.

Jordan played guard his first two seasons and moved to center for the 2018 campaign. He is the third consecutive Ohio State center to be named an All-American, after Pat Elflein and Billy Price in 2017 and 2017, respectively.

Jordan, from Canton, Mich., and Plymouth High School, completed a 180-hour internship the summer of 2018 with Munster Financial. He was working on his degree in consumer and family financial services.

Recent Ohio State Offensive Lineman Drafted
2019: Michael Jordan – 4th round, Cincinnati
2018: Billy Price – 1st, Cincinnati
2018: Jamarco Jones – 3rd, Seattle
2017: Pat Elflein – 3rd, Minnesota
2016: Taylor Decker – 1st, Detroit
2014: Jack Mewhort – 2nd, Indianapolis
2014: Corey Linsley – 5th, Green Bay
2013: Reid Fragel – 7th, Cincinnati
2012: Mike Adams – 2nd, Pittsburgh