April 21, 1999

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Oklahoma’s Todd Bishop was the recipient of the 1999 Nissen-Emery Award, %^$presented tonight at the annual banquet in Lincoln, Neb. Bishop is a four-time All-American and 1998 %^$Horizontal Bar NCAA Champion. Bishop scored the first perfect 10 in Oklahoma mens gymnastics history %^$on the horizontal bar at home against Nebraska this season before repeating the feat at the Lobo Invitational %^$and at the NCAA West Regional two weeks ago. Bishop is ranked first nationally on the horizontal bar and %^$third on both pommel horse and the parallel bars. Bishop qualified for the NCAA Championship with his %^$scores on the pommel horse, parallel bars and horizontal bar. %^$

Ohio State’s Peter Landry (Sr., Lewiston, Maine) was among the eight finalists for the honor. %^$

%^$NCAA Championship Notes%^$–Ohio State’s 19 NCAA Championship appearances now more than triples that of any other university%^$–Since 1938, the Buckeyes have made 29 total NCAA appearances%^$–Ohio State has claimed two team championships and has yielded 16 individual championships%^$–Blaine Wilson is in the NCAA record book for the most number of individual titles in one year with %^$ three, while Jean Cronstedt from Penn State and Robert Lynn from Southern California lead the race with %^$ four; Wilson also laid claim to six individual titles in a career %^$–In the repeat championships category, Buckeye Drew Durbin is tied for third with a total of three on the %^$ pommel horse from 1995-1997%^$–Ohio State had four individual championships in one year in 1996-1997%^$