April 21, 1999

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Oklahoma’s Todd Bishop was the recipient of the 1999 Nissen-Emery Award, presented tonight at the annual banquet in Lincoln, Neb. Bishop is a four-time All-American and 1998 Horizontal Bar NCAA Champion. Bishop scored the first perfect 10 in Oklahoma mens gymnastics history on the horizontal bar at home against Nebraska this season before repeating the feat at the Lobo Invitational and at the NCAA West Regional two weeks ago. Bishop is ranked first nationally on the horizontal bar and third on both pommel horse and the parallel bars. Bishop qualified for the NCAA Championship with his scores on the pommel horse, parallel bars and horizontal bar.

Ohio State’s Peter Landry (Sr., Lewiston, Maine) was among the eight finalists for the honor.

NCAA Championship Notes –Ohio State’s 19 NCAA Championship appearances now more than triples that of any other university –Since 1938, the Buckeyes have made 29 total NCAA appearances –Ohio State has claimed two team championships and has yielded 16 individual championships –Blaine Wilson is in the NCAA record book for the most number of individual titles in one year with three, while Jean Cronstedt from Penn State and Robert Lynn from Southern California lead the race with four; Wilson also laid claim to six individual titles in a career –In the repeat championships category, Buckeye Drew Durbin is tied for third with a total of three on the pommel horse from 1995-1997 –Ohio State had four individual championships in one year in 1996-1997