Buckeyes Luces and Linda Haussener selected to first team, Michaela O’Malley a second team honoree

COLUMBUS, Ohio Yesenia Luces, a senior midfielder on the Ohio State field hockey team, was named Big Ten Co-Offensive Player of the Year, the conference announced Thursday at the Big Ten tournament banquet. Also handed out were the All-Big Ten awards with Luces and Linda Haussener selected to the first team and Michaela O’Malley earning second team honors.

It is the second-consecutive offensive player of the year award for Luces and the first time a Buckeye has earned back-to-back conference player of the year honors. The native of Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, shared the offensive award with Lucia Belassi of Michigan.

Luces concluded her senior season with 27 points and 11 goals to lead the Buckeyes in both categories and she tied for the team lead in assists with five. She ranked fifth overall in the conference in both points and goals.

Along with her player of the year honors, Luces was a unanimous selection First Team All-Big Ten and the Ohio State winner of the Sportsmanship Award. It is the third-consecutive season she has been selected to the first team and is the fourth Buckeye to earn the award three times. She also was a unanimous pick to the first team last season.

Joining Luces on the first team was Haussener. The junior midfielder from Baden, Switzerland, ranked second on Ohio State with 23 points and nine goals and tied for first with five assists. Ten of her points were scored against Big Ten opponents to tie for second in conference games scoring. Haussener adds the first team nod to a second team selection in 2006.

O’Malley, a senior forward from Stow, Mass., received Second Team All-Big Ten honors for the first conference award of her career. She ranked third on the Buckeyes in points (17) and goals (7). After transferring to Ohio State her junior season, O’Malley totaled 40 points in her two years including 17 goals.


*First Team
Meredith Brown, Sr., midfield, IND
Haley Exner, Sr., goalkeeper, IND
Meghan Beamesderfer, So., defense, IOWA
Caroline Blaum, Jr., forward, IOWA
Roz Ellis, Jr., defense, IOWA
Lauren Pfeiffer, Jr., midfield, IOWA
Paige Laytos, So., forward, MICH
JEAMIE DEACON, So., midfield, MSU
Amanda Care, Sr., defense, NU
Linda Haussener, Jr., midfield, OSU
YESENIA LUCES, Sr., midfield, OSU
Jen Long, Jr., defense, PSU
Kiersten Wood, Sr., midfield, PSU

#Second Team
Kadi Sickel, Sr., defense, IOWA
Paige Pickett, So., goalkeeper, MICH
Jillianne Whitfield, Sr., defense, MICH
Florentine Rijpma, So., midfield, MSU
Amy Schneider, Sr., defense, MSU
Alex Quinn, Jr., forward, NU
Michaela O’Malley, Sr., forward, OSU
Shaun Banta, Sr., forward, PSU
Allison Scola, Jr., midfield, PSU

* Additional honorees due to ties
# Fewer honorees due to additions on first team
Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS

Offensive Co-Players of the Year: Lucia Belassi, MICH and Yesenia Luces, OSU
Defensive Player of the Year:
Jen Long, PSU
Freshman of the Year: Jantine Steinmetz, MSU
Coach of the Year: Nancy Cox, MICH

Sportsmanship Award Honorees                                            
Margie Stoll, Sr., IND
Lissa Munley, Jr., IOWA
Lucia Belassi, Sr., MICH
Rebecca Manning, Sr., MSU
Katie Charles, Sr., NU
Yesenia Luces, Sr., OSU
Mallory Weissen, Sr., PSU