Nov. 3, 2003

Orlando — The Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando, Inc. (DACO) has announced former Ohio State linebacker Tom Cousineau as the winner of the 2003 Butkus Silver Anniversary Award, which is awarded annually to the best linebacker in college football from 25-years ago.

Cousineau was a two-time All-America for the Buckeyes in 1977 and ’78. His 211 tackles in 1978 still stand as a single-season school record. Against Penn State in 1978, “Cous” was in on 29 total tackles, at the time an OSU record that has since been tied by Chris Spielman. Cousineau also holds the school record for most solo tackles in a single game, 16 against SMU in 1978. He is second on the all-time OSU tackle list with 569.

Cousineau will be formally presented with the Silver Anniversary Award at the Butkus Award® Presentation Ceremony on Friday, December 12, 2003 at the Renaissance Orlando Resort at Sea World where the 2003 Butkus Award® winner will also be announced. On Thursday, November 13, 2003, DACO will announce the three finalists for this year’s Butkus Award® at a national press/teleconference in Orlando. The three Butkus Award® finalists and their coaches will participate in the announcement. The 2003 Butkus Award® Semi-Finalists are semifinalists are Michael Boulware of Florida State, Josh Buhl of Kansas State, Karlos Dansby of Auburn, Rod Davis of Southern Mississippi, Matt Grootegoed of Southern California, Derrick Johnson of Texas, Teddy Lehman of Oklahoma, Courtney Watson of Notre Dame, Jonathan Vilma of Miami (FL), Demorrio Williams of Nebraska and D.J. Williams of Miami (FL).