Oct. 22, 2004

Columbus, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s tennis team continued a strong showing at the ITA Midwest Regional Championships Saturday as sophomore Sonia Ruzimovsky qualified for the main singles draw and the tandem of Lindsey Adams and Caitlin O’Keefe advanced to the round of 16 in the doubles main draw.

After a pair of victories Thursday, Ruzimovsky (Soph., Brooklyn, N.Y./Brooklyn Tech) continued her recent strong play with a three-set victory of Reedhina Parekh of Western Michigan, 6-2, 5-7, 6-4. She will join five teammates, Emily DeCamilla (Sr., Sacramento, Calif./Maryland), Lindsay Bryan (Sr., New Orleans, La./Ursuline Academy), Kristin Messmer (Soph., Lutherville, Md./McDonogh), Adams (Sr., Mercer Island, Wash./Mercer Island), and O’Keefe (O’Keefe (Fr., Troy, Mich./Troy) in the first round of the singles main draw Saturday.

Four Buckeye duos were in action as play in the 64-team main draw began Friday. Adams and O’Keefe lead the way with a pair of victories. They first topped Minnesota’s Jane Anderson and Nischela Reddy, 8-3, in round one before beating Michelle Cunningham and Mallory Stemle of IUPU by an 8-4 margin in round two. DeCamilla and Emily Howard (Jr., Akron, Ohio/Walsh Jesuit) also won in round one, 8-5 over Sarah Galon and Morgan Ungerott of Cleveland State before being knocked out in round two by Hala Sufi and Stephanie Wooten of Purdue, 8-6. Also competing for the Buckeyes were Messmer and Ruzimovsky, who lost to Indiana’s Laura McGaffigan and Dora Vastag, 8-2, in round one and Bryan and Meredith Vincent (Sr., Cincinnati, Ohio/Va. Tech), who lost to top-seeded Michelle DaCosta and Kara Delicata of Michigan, 8-2.

Action at the ITA Midwest Regional in Minneapolis, Min., continues Saturday with more doubles competition and the opening of the main singles draw.

ITA Midwest Regional
Day 2
Qualifying singles
Main draw doubles
Oct. 22, 2004
Minneapolis, Minn.
Baseline Tennis Center

Teams competing:
Ohio State (OSU), Minnesota (UM), Indiana University-Purdue University at Indianapolis (IUPUI), Illinois (ILL), Evansville (EU), Butler (BU), Iowa, Western Michigan (WMU), Cleveland State (CSU), Indiana (IU), Michigan (UM)

Singles – Qualifier

Jane Anderson (MINN) def. Meredith Vincent (OSU), 6-3, 6-2
Sonia Ruzimovsky (OSU) def. Reedhina Parekh (WMU), 6-2, 5-7, 6-4

Doubles – Main draw
Round One

Emily DeCamilla/Emily Howard (OSU) def. Galon/Ungerott (CSU), 8-5
Dora Vastag/Laura McGaffigan (IU) def. Kristin Messmer/Sonia Ruzimovsky (OSU), 8-2
Lindsey Adams/Caitlin O’Keefe (OSU) def. Jane Anderson/Nischela Reddy (MINN), 8-3

Round Two
Michelle DaCosta/Kim Delicata (UM) def. Lindsay Bryan/Meredith Vincent (OSU), 8-1
Lindsey Adams/Caitlin O’Keefe (OSU) def. Michelle Cunningham/Mallory Stemle (IUPUI), 8-4
Hala Sufi/Stephanie Wooten (PU) def. Emily DeCamilla/Emily Howard (OSU), 8-6