Nov. 6, 2003

Columbus, Ohio-Ohio State freshman Melissa Miller (Cincinnati, Ohio/ Colerain) was honored on two occasions at the Big Ten women’s soccer banquet Wednesday night as she received both All-Big Ten Freshman Team and Second Team All-Conference awards.

Miller, who joined fellow Buckeye freshman Staci Sinkway (Oct. 6) and junior Lisa Grubb (Sept. 5) as conference weekly honorees, has combined with Erica Nollen to solidify the middle of an OSU backline that has held opponents to just 0.64 goals per contest and an all-time season low 12 goals.

Miller earned Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week honors Oct. 20 after scoring the game-winning goal vs. Wisconsin and later assisting on another score in the same match. Miller recorded her first collegiate goal in the 4-1 win at Wright State. She has totaled six points this season on two goals and two assists.

Ohio State head coach Lori Walker was thrilled with Miller’s recognition.

“We are very proud of Melissa,” Walker said. “She had a fantastic year, impacting both our attack and contributing to one of the best defenses the Ohio State program has ever seen.”

The Buckeyes seek to defend their 2002 Big Ten Tournament title Thursday in the opening round vs. Michigan at 4:30 at McClimon Soccer Complex in Madison, Wis.

Position First Team Second Team Forward Tara Hurless, Jr., ILL Katelyn Quinn, So., IOWA Tiffany Weimer, So., PSU Tiffany Laskowski, Sr., MSU Annette Kent, Sr., PUR Heidi Drummond, Sr., PSU Lauren Sesselmann, Jr., PUR Jenny Kundert, Sr., WIS Midfield Kim Grodek, Jr., IND Abby Shepherd, Jr., MSU Aileen Guiney, Sr., NU Stephanie Smith, Sr., PSU JOANNA LOHMAN, Sr., PSU Katy Lindenmuth, So., WIS Defense Meghan Kolze, Sr., ILL Carly Everett, Sr., IND Andrea Sied, Sr., MSU *Melissa Miller, Fr., OSU Molly Greene, Sr., NU *Leigh Hamilton, Sr., PSU *Natalie Jacobs, So., PSU Mary Masck, Sr., PUR *Molly Meuer, Jr., WIS Goalkeeper Leisha Alcia, Jr., ILL Stacy Heller, Sr., MSU


2003 Women’s Soccer All-Freshman Team

Forward Jessica Bayne, ILL Megan Pipkens, IND Haley Lentsch, MINN

Midfield Shannon Schneeman, NU Ali Krieger, PSU Kara Kabellis, WIS

Defense Lindsey Cottrell, MICH Melissa Miller, OSU Sarah Dwyer, PSU Sharon Pagorek, PUR

Goalkeeper Lauren Mason, PUR

Athlete of the Year: Joanna Lohman, PSU Freshman of the Year: Ali Krieger, PSU Coach of the Year: Paula Wilkins, PSU