May 18, 2005

COLUMBUS, Ohio: Former Ohio State lineman Jim Houston has been selected to the College Football Hall of Fame. The announcement was made today at a press conference in New York City.

This year’s class of 11 players and two coaches will be inducted in New York in December and enshrined into the College Hall of Fame in South Bend in August of 2006. There were 75 players on this year’s ballot, including quarterback Rex Kern, linebacker Chris Spielman and running back Keith Byars.

Houston was a three-year starter in 1957, ’58 and ’59 for Coach Woody Hayes. He helped lead the ’57 Buckeyes to a 9-1 record and the national championship. He won first-team All-Big Ten and first-team All-America honors as both a junior and a senior. He also was the team MVP in 1958 and ’59 and the team captain as a senior.

The 1957 Buckeyes began the season with an 18-14 loss to TCU, but then reeled off nine consecutive victories, including a 31-14 win at Michigan to clinch the Big Ten title and a 10-7 win over Oregon in the Rose Bowl to claim the national championship. Houston was 2-1 against Michigan during his stay at Ohio State.

Following his career at Ohio State, he played 13 years with the Cleveland Browns and was selected to the Pro Bowl four times.

Houston, a native of Sagamore Hills, Ohio, is the 20th Ohio State player selected to the College Hall of Fame. The Buckeyes also have eight coaches in the Hall of Fame.