April 2, 2005

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Jessica Davenport, a sophomore center on the Ohio State women’s basketball team, was named to the 2005 Kodak/Women’s Basketball Coaches Association All-America Team Saturday at an announcement in Indianapolis, the host city for the 2005 Women’s Final Four. Davenport was one of two Big Ten players named to the squad, along with Minnesota senior center Janel McCarville. Junior Seimone Augustus of LSU collected the 2005 State Farm Wade Trophy for player of the year.

A native of Columbus, Ohio, Davenport led the Buckeyes in 2004-05 with an average of 19.3 points, 9.3 rebounds and 3.4 blocks per game. She recorded 14 double-doubles (at least 10 points and 10 rebounds in the same game), including the first triple-double in Ohio State history with 19 points, 13 rebounds and 12 blocked shots at Michigan State Feb. 20. Additionally, Davenport became the third Buckeye to score 1,000 career points as a sophomore and set Ohio State single-season records with 325 rebounds and 116 blocked shots.

“It is a great honor to be recognized among great players I have watched all year,” Davenport said. “I am honored to be recognized by the Kodak and WBCA committee. I am thankful for the teammates and coaches I have that helped me reach this level.”

Davenport is the first Kodak/WBCA All-American selection for Ohio State since Katie Smith won her second such honor in 1996. Davenport is Ohio State’s third national Kodak/WBCA All-American, joining Smith and Tracey Hall (1985-88). Hall was recognized by Kodak/WBCA in 1987 and ’88.

A finalist for the 2005 Naismith Trophy, Wade Trophy and Wooden Award, Davenport helped Ohio State to its first 30-win season in program history, finishing the year at 30-5. The Buckeyes shared the regular season Big Ten championship with Michigan State with a 14-2 league mark. Davenport and the Buckeyes reached the regional semifinals of the 2005 NCAA Tournament, marking the team’s first appearance in the “Sweet 16” since 1993.

2005 Kodak/WBCA All-America Team Name Class School Seimone Augustus Jr. LSU Jacqueline Batteast Sr. Notre Dame Monique Currie Jr. Duke Jessica Davenport So. Ohio State Sandora Irvin Sr. TCU Janel McCarville Sr. Minnesota Kendra Wecker Sr. Kansas State Tan White Sr. Mississippi State Candice Wiggins Fr. Stanford Sophia Young Jr. Baylor

2005 Player of the Year: Seimone Augustus, LSU