Feb. 24, 2007

Naismith Award Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Jessica Davenport, a senior center on the No. 5/6-ranked Ohio State women’s basketball team, was named one of 30 finalists for the 2007 James Naismith Award for national player of the year. The Atlanta Tipoff Clun made the announcement Friday.

Davenport is on the final Naismith list for the third-consecutive season. She is leading the Big Ten with a 19.1 points per game average and is pulling down nearly 10 rebounds a game. Davenport is ranked No. 4 in the nation in field goal percentage at .611.

Thursday, Davenport poured in 26 points in helping the Buckeyes clinch a share of their third straight Big Ten title with a 78-61 home win over Penn State.

Davenport and the Buckeyes (25-2, 14-1) complete regular season action at Michigan at 2 p.m. Sunday.

2007 Naismith Award Finalists

Matee Ajavon , Rutgers Alison Bales, Duke Essense Carson, Rutgers Cori Chambers , Georgia Marissa Coleman, Maryland Jazz Covington, Louisville Jessica Davenport, Ohio State Dee Davis, Vanderbilt Jessica Dickson, USF Shay Doron, Maryland Sylvia Fowles, LSU Katie Gearlds, Purdue Chrissy Givens, Middle Tennessee Lindsey Harding, Duke Laura Harper, Maryland Alexis Hornbuckle, Tennessee Charde Houston, Connecticut Tasha Humphrey, Georgia Tiffany Jackson, Texas Crystal Langhorne, Maryland Erlana Larkins, UNC Ivory Latta, UNC Camille Little, UNC Courtney Paris, Oklahoma Candace Parker, Tennessee Armintie Price, Ole Miss Noelle Quinn, UCLA Jillian Robbins, Tulsa Brooke Smith, Stanford Kristi Toliver, Maryland Candice Wiggins, Stanford