April 20, 2006

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State’s John Albertson (Fr., Ballwin, Mo.) and Daniel Mathews (So., Shorewood, Wis.) have been named to the 2006 Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association All-Conference first team. Albertson was also honored as the MIVA Freshman of the Year.

Albertson, in conference statistics, ranks second in blocks per game at 1.51, 18th in kills at 2.35, 15th in points at 3.22 and sixth in hitting percentage at .364. He is currently ranked 10th nationally in blocks per game at 1.42. Mathews ranks third in assists per game at 13.11 in conference statistics and was 10th nationally at 12.63 per game. In league matches he averaged 1.37 digs, 1.05 blocks and .26 aces per game. In 2005, he was a MIVA second team All-Conference selection, the MIVA Freshman of the Year and was named the 2005 MIVA Tournament Most Valuable Player.

Ohio State (19-11 overall) opens defense of their MIVA Tournament Championship Saturday when they host Quincy (12-16) at 7 p.m. in St. John Arena in a MIVA Tournament Quarterfinal match.


2006 MIVA First Team All-Conference (listed alphabetical) Athlete School Pos. Hgt. Cl. Hometown John Albertson Ohio State MB 6-6 Fr. Ballwin, Mo. Dave Carlson Ball State S 6-3 Sr. Coon Rapids, Minn. James Grunst (1, 4, 5) Loyola MH 6-5 Jr. Milwaukee, Wis. Brian Guntli (2) Loyola S 6-3 Jr. St. Louis, Mo. Chris Kozlarek (1) Loyola OPP 6-3 Sr. Evergreen Park, Ill. C. J. Macias (2) IPFW OPP 6-4 So. Fort Lauderdale, Fla. Daniel Mathews (2, 3) Ohio State S 6-6 So. Shorewood, Wis Nick Meyer (2) Ball State OPP 6-8 Jr. Cincinnati, Ohio Serda Sikca (1, 4) IPFW MH 6-7 Sr. Istanbul, Turkey John Thuet Loyola L 6-2 Sr. St. Louis, Mo.

2006 MIVA Second Team All-Conference (listed alphabetical) Athlete School Pos. Hgt. Cl. Hometown T. J. Bellei Carthage MB 6-6 So. Lake Forest, Ill. Evan Berg (1) Ball State OH 6-3 Sr. Bristol, Wis. Pat Durbin Ball State OH 6-6 Jr. Louisville, Ky. Corey Kloos Loyola MH 6-5 Sr. Florissant, Mo. Colin Lundeen IPFW S 6-3 Jr. Victoria, B.C. Canada Ian Peckler Ball State L 6-3 Jr. Vernon Hills, Ill Niels Pedersen Quincy S/H 6-4 Sr. Evergreen Park, Ill Drew Pickering Lewis OH 5-11 Fr. Wauwatosa, Wis. Josh Stewart IPFW MH 6-8 So. St. Mary’s, Ont. Canada Alex Vigansky Lewis MH 6-9 Fr. Kenosha, Wis.

2006 MIVA Player of the Year: Chris Kozlarek, Loyola 2006 MIVA Freshman of the Year: John Albertson, Ohio State 2006 MIVA Coach of the Year: Shane Davis (6), Loyola

1 2005 MIVA First Team All-Conference Selection 2 2005 MIVA Second Team All-Conference Selection 3 2005 MIVA Freshman of the Year 4 2004 MIVA First Team All-Conference Selection 5 2004 MIVA Freshman of the Year 6 2005 MIVA Coach of the Year