Aug. 21, 2006

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Chuck Merzbacher, Ohio State women’s tennis coach, announced the team’s 2006-07 schedule Monday. The Buckeyes, members of the Big Ten Conference, will host 13 matches in Columbus and hit the road for 14 contests. Ohio State will face nine teams that finished ranked in the final 2006 Intercollegiate Tennis Association rankings including conference foes Iowa, Indiana, Northwestern, Purdue and Michigan. The Buckeyes will also face eight teams that qualified for the 2006 NCAA Championship including quarterfinalists Northwestern and Notre Dame.

The Buckeyes will open the fall schedule at the Princeton Invitational in Princeton, N.J. They will then compete in four more tournaments before wrapping up the fall season when they host the ITA National Indoor Championships at the Racquet Club of Columbus for the second-consecutive year.

Ohio State opens up the spring season with a double header against in-state rivals Bowling Green and Cincinnati Jan. 27, 2007. The Buckeyes begin conference play with a home match vs. Wisconsin March 4 then hit the road for five-consecutive road dates. The regular season concludes with home matches against Michigan April 21 and Penn State April 22.

Following regular season play, Ohio State heads to Minneapolis for the Big Ten Championship hosted by Minnesota.

The Ohio State University
Women’s Tennis
2006-2007 Schedule

15-17 Princeton Invite Princeton, N.J. All Day
22-24 Wake Forest Fall Invitational Winston Salem, N.C. All Day
22-24 Penn Cissie Leary Invitational Philadelphia, Pa. All Day
5-8 ITA All-American Championships Pacific Palisades, Calif. All Day
19-24 ITA Midwest Regional East Lansing, Mich. All Day
28-30 Dartmouth Big Green Invitational Hanover, N.H. All Day
2-5 ITA Nat’l Indoor Championships1 Columbus, Ohio All Day
27 Bowling Green Columbus, Ohio 10 a.m.
27 Cincinnati Columbus, Ohio 5 p.m.
2 at West Virginia Morgantown, W.Va. 3 p.m.
9 Marquette Columbus, Ohio 3 p.m.
11 Virginia Tech Columbus, Ohio 10 a.m.
11 Miami (Ohio) Columbus, Ohio 6 p.m.
17 vs. Marshall Williamsburg, Va. 1 p.m.
18 at William & Mary Williamsburg, Va. 1 p.m.
24 vs. Auburn Louisville, Ky. 10 a.m.
25 at Louisville Louisville, Ky. 10 a.m.
25 at Eastern Kentucky Richmond, Ky. 7:15 p.m.
2 DePaul Columbus, Ohio 5 p.m.
4 Wisconsin Columbus, Ohio 11 a.m.
19 vs. Wichita State Ft. Myers, Fla. 10 a.m.
19 at Florida Gulf Coast Ft. Myers, Fla. 3 p.m.
23 at Minnesota Minneapolis, Minn. 6:30 p.m.
25 at Iowa Iowa City, Iowa 11 a.m.
30 at Michigan State East Lansing, Mich. 3 p.m.
1 Syracuse Columbus, Ohio 11 a.m.
4 at IndianavBloomington, Ind. 3 p.m.
7 Northwestern Columbus, Ohio 11 a.m.
9 Notre Dame Columbus, Ohio 2:30 p.m.
9 Wright State Columbus, Ohio 7:30 p.m.
14 at Purdue W. Lafayette, Ind. 11 a.m.
15 at Illinois Champaign, Ill. 11 a.m.
21 Michigan Columbus, Ohio 11 a.m.
22 Penn St. Columbus, Ohio 11 a.m.
26-29 Big Ten Conference Championships Minneapolis, Minn. All Day
11-13 NCAA Regionals Campus Sites All Day
17-28 NCAA Championships Athens, Ga. All Day

1Racquet Club of Columbus (Bethel Road); All times local to site; Home matches in BOLD CAPS and played either at Jesse Owens Tennis Center (indoor) or Stickney Tennis Center (outdoor).