May. 2, 2005

The Ohio State women’s swimming and diving team held its annual spring banquet at the Faculty Club April 16 to celebrate the accomplishments the team made throughout the 2004-05 season. The coaching staff handed out the team’s post-season awards.

Nicole Maglich (Jr., Sarasota, Fla./Sarasota) was the recipient of the team’s Most Valuable Swimmer Award. Maglich contributed to the team both during the dual-meet season and in post-season action. Heading into post-season play, Maglich was ranked both within the conference and nationally. At the Big Ten championships, Maglich recorded four NCAA “B” qualifying times. At the national meet, she competed in the 200- and 500-yard freestyle and the 200-yard butterfly.

Julie Broms (So., Springfield, Ill./North Central) was named the team’s Most Valuable Diver. In Big Ten championship action, Broms won the 3-meter event with a season-high 583.45 points and earned First Team All-Big Ten honors. She returned to the diving well at the NCAA championships to earn All-American Honorable Mention following a 16th-place finish in the 1-meter and a ninth-place finish in the 3-meter. Broms won 11 boards during the dual-meet season, including seven on the 3-meter board.

Griet Buelens (Fr., Kapelle, Belgium/Ursulinen Mechelen) earned the Rookie of the Year Award. Buelens played an impacting role throughout her freshman season. At the 2005 Big Ten Championships she became the first Big Ten swimming champion individually for the Buckeyes since Jocelyn Jay in 1995. Her title came in the 200-yard butterfly event in which she was ranked nationally a majority of the season. Her time of 1:59.09 was the fastest time in Ohio State history. She went on to compete at the NCAA championships in the 200-yard breaststroke and the 200-yard freestyle events. During the dual-meet season, Buelens was ranked both in the Big Ten and nationally and won 21 individual events.

Kearstin Hetrick (Sr., Copley, Ohio/Copley) won the most inspirational award. Hetrick was awarded the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award for the Buckeyes following the Big Ten championship. Hetrick contributed in eight dual meets this season.

Erin Greene (Jr., Crawfordville, Fla./Wakulla) was named Most Improved of the Buckeye squad for the second season in a row. Throughout the season, Greene competed in ten dual meets, representing the Buckeyes individually and in relay events.

Finally, Annie Rennebohm (Fr., Worthington, Ohio/Thomas Worthington) earned the Academic Excellence award. Rennebohm competed at the Big Ten championships in the relay events. During the dual-meet season she contributed in ten dual meets.