May 20, 2005

Columbus, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s basketball team will be recognized for its record-setting 2004-05 season by the Columbus City Council at 5 p.m. Monday in City Hall. The Buckeyes closed the book on their 40th campaign with a program-best 30 wins, a Big Ten co-championship and their first appearance in the NCAA tournament “Sweet 16” since 1992-93. City Council member Mary Jo Hudson will present several of the coaches and team members with a resolution of recognition at the meeting on the second floor of the council chambers.

Six student-athletes will represent the 2004-05 squad Monday. Jessica Davenport (So., Columbus, Ohio/Independence), a 2005 All-American and Big Ten Player of the Year, will be joined by senior Ashley Allen (Indianapolis, Ind./ Ben Davis), juniors Michelle Muñoz (Mason, Ohio/ Mason) and Kim Wilburn (Southfield, Mich./ Detroit Country Day), and freshmen Alice Jamen (Yaounde, Cameroon/ Mount de Chantal) and Tamarah Riley (Detroit, Mich./ St. Martin DePorres).

The resolution received by the women’s basketball team is the second in the last two years by an Ohio State athletics team. In 2004, the Ohio State Senate honored the Buckeye wrestling team for their third-place finish at the national tournament.