May 24, 2005

Columbus, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s basketball team was recognized with a resolution of recognition Monday at Columbus City Hall. City Council member Mary Jo Hudson presented the Buckeyes with the resolution, which recognized Ohio State for its team-record 30 wins, a Big Ten co-championship and appearance in the regional semifinals of the 2005 NCAA Tournament.

Six student athletes and three members of the Ohio State staff were attendance. Assistant coach Pete Gaudet addressed the council on behalf of the team and senior co-captain Beth Howe accepted the resolution from Hudson. Jessica Davenport, the 2005 Big Ten Player of the Year, Michelle Muñoz, Kim Wilburn, Alice Jamen, Tamarah Riley, assistant coach Debbie Black and Erin Wright, direction of basketball operations, also attended the recognition.

The City Council meeting was broadcast on public access television and will be re-aired several times this week.