April 22, 2005

Columbus, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s basketball team held its team banquet Thursday to celebrate the 2004-05 season that saw the Buckeyes win a program-best 30 games, a Big Ten co-championship and its first appearance in the NCAA tournament “Sweet 16” since 1992-93. The banquet was held at the Buckeye Hall of Fame Café.

Jessica Davenport, the 2005 Big Ten Player of the Year, received the Phyllis Bailey award, which is given to the “player that best demonstrates athletic achievement, academic responsibility, effort, enthusiasm and loyalty to the program.” Bailey and Ohio State head coach Jim Foster presented the award to Davenport. The Columbus Independence product also was the recipient of a commemorative basketball recognizing the March 6 game vs. Minnesota, the date when Davenport scored her 1,000th career point.

Beth Howe, a senior guard, received the Buckeye Award, which is a semi-annual honor presented to the student-athlete who personifies leadership and dedication to the Ohio State program. Fellow senior Caity Matter also received a commemorative basketball to recognize the Bluffton, Ohio native as the all-time leader at Ohio State in career three-point baskets.

In addition, Davenport, Matter and several Buckeyes received their 2004-05 awards from outside the Ohio State program. Davenport collected her 2005 Big Ten Player of the Year and All-Conference first team honor. Matter, an Associated Press All-American honorable mention, also was recognized for her third Big Ten second-team award and sophomore guard Brandie Hoskins was given her Big Ten third-team award.

Seven student-athletes also were honored for their academic achievement during the 2004-05 season. Davenport, Matter, Tia Battle, Stephanie Blanton and Candace Dark all earned Academic All-Big Ten standing.