Ohio State will donate its $500 prize to the Stefanie Spielman Fund for breast cancer research

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State University was one of 33 winners in the NCAA Division I “Pack the House” Challenge. Ohio State hosted a total of 11,827 fans at its women’s basketball game vs. Michigan State on Feb. 21, the second-largest women’s crowd at Value City Arena.

The NCAA awards a $500 donation prize to the nonprofit organization of each winning institution’s choice. Ohio State has chosen to donate its prize to the Stefanie Spielman Fund for breast cancer research.

“Pack the House” is national effort in which conferences and institutions compete to build attendance. NCAA Division I women’s basketball marketing staffs selected a home game and designated that date as a “Pack the House” game with the goal of setting an attendance record. One winner from each of the 32 conferences and one from a group of independent institutions were named. Selections were based on marketing plan creativity and attendance criteria.

And pack the house, they did. More than half of the Division I membership – 181 institutions – participated in the effort that attracted more than 511,000 fans. Sixty programs surpassed their single-game attendance highs from last year.

“We believe this initiative has served as a catalyst to increase attendance, create excitement and enhance exposure for our women’s basketball programs,” said NCAA Vice President of Division I Women’s Basketball Sue Donohoe. “Institution personnel committed a great deal of time, effort and resources to this program and the results were extremely positive. This program provides great ‘best practices’ and examples of success for institutions that are seeking to ‘grow’ women’s basketball and these success stories will continue to strengthen efforts in the future.”

Winners of the 209-10 NCAA “Pack the House” Challenge are:

America East – Hartford
Atlantic Coast – Virginia
Atlantic Sun – Jacksonville
Atlantic 10 – Xavier
Big East – West Virginia
Big Sky – Weber State
Big South – Winthrop
Big Ten – Ohio State
Big 12 – Nebraska
Big West – Long Beach State
Colonial – Delaware
Conference USA – Tulsa
Great West – North Dakota
Horizon – Youngstown State
Ivy – Dartmouth
Metro Atlantic – Marist
Mid-American – Central Michigan
Mid-Eastern – Maryland-Eastern Shore
Missouri Valley – Illinois State
Mountain West – TCU
Northeast – Bryant
Ohio Valley – Eastern Illinois
Pacific-10 – UCLA
Patriot – Army
Southeastern – Kentucky
Southern – Appalachian State
Southland – Sam Houston State
SWAC – Prairie View A&M
Summit – Oral Roberts
Sun Belt – Middle Tennessee State
West Coast – San Francisco
WAC – Louisiana Tech
Independents – Longwood
Virginia – Atlantic Coast Conference