April 8, 2017

Ohio State Wins 14th Conference Title in Program History


April 8, 2017


Columbus, Ohio – For the 14th time in program history, the Ohio State men’s gymnastics team is Big Ten Champions. The Buckeyes scored a team total of 418.600 to edge Illinois (416.400) and Minnesota (413.300) for their second-straight conference title. Ohio State was paced by all-arounder’s Sean Melton (85.050) and Jake Martin (83.300), who finished one-two in the standings.

Melton was absolutely dominant on the night. Melton, the reigning all-around champ, defended his title with a suave aurora. Melton registered the highest score out of all the competitors in both the floor (15.050) and rings (14.600). Melton finished with scores of 13.100 on pommel horse, 14.550 on vault, 13.800 on parallel bars and a 13.950 on high bar to put the stamp down on the competition. Melton is only the third athlete in program history to win back-to-back titles in the all-around; from 1995-97, Blaine Wilson won three in a row and Randy Monahan accomplished the feat in 2003-04.

Coming in behind Melton was Martin. The fifth-year senior could not have been more clutch. All six of his routines were grand and it was highlighted by fifth-place showing on the pommel with a 14.200. Martin’s other scores were 14.200 (floor), 13.700 (parallel bars), 13.900 (high bar), 14.100 (vault) and 13.200 (rings).

Alec Yoder, the reigning Big Ten Freshman of the Year, registered the best parallel-bar routine of his life with a readout of 14.700 for the second-highest score of the evening. It was his second parallel bar routine of the year and he competed in four events for the first time this season.

Brandon Jacoby was just off Martin’s pace in the pommel with a readout of 14.150 to register the sixth-highest score of the night.

As a team, the Buckeyes scored their highest readout of the season on floor with a 71.050. Ohio State was consistent all even long and did what it had to do. The Buckeyes made no huge mistakes, and executed the game plan to perfection.

Ohio State scored a 69.250 on pommel, 68.450 on rings, 71.200 on vault, 70.000 on parallel bars and 68.650 on the high bar for its total of 418.600.

Championship History
Ohio State has now won 14 Big Ten team titles in program history, including seven in the 21st century, which is the most by any Big Ten institution in that timeframe.

The Buckeyes have won 79 event titles at the Big Ten Championships, including four in 2016 and one so far this year. Sean Melton was victorious in the all-around for the second-consecutive year and he won individual titles on the floor and parallel bars in 2016. Alec Yoder captured his first-career B1G title on the pommel horse in 2016.

Watch Live on the Big Ten Network
The individual portion of the meet will air live on the Big Ten Network starting at 8 p.m. ET Saturday evening.

The championship will also be carried live via BTN Plus on BTN2Go. Complimentary access to BTN2Go is available to viewers connected to the internet network of a Big Ten university.