April 30, 2017


Results (PDF)
Photo Gallery
Tournament Central
2016-17 Schedule
2016-17 Stats
Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook and Twitter

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – Ohio State’s dominance of the Big Ten Tournament since the mid-2000s continued on Sunday as the Buckeyes dispatched of rival Michigan 4-1 to claim its 12th tournament title and the 10th in the last 12 years.

The win gives the Buckeyes a season-sweep of the Wolverines as they also win 4-1 in Ann Arbor on March 26. This is also the 24th-straight win over their rivals from up north.

Michigan is one of the better doubles teams in the conference and the Buckeyes stole their thunder early. On court three, JJ Wolf and Hunter Tubert won the first nine points of the match and went up a break at 2-1. Martin Joyce and Hugo Di Feo also took an early break lead and snagged another break to gup 5-1. They were broken in their attempt to serve for the match but they bounced-back with a break of their own to win 6-2.

Mikael Torpegaard and Herkko Pollanen were on serve with the No. 22 team of Connor Johnston and Jathan Malik until winning back-to-back games to go up 5-3. UM held to make it 5-4 and then the Buckeyes clinched the point and the match 6-4.

In singles, the Buckeyes kept the momentum from the doubles point and would set the tone as four different Buckeyes jumped out to 4-1 first set leads. Torpegaard was coming off his first loss of the spring last Sunday and one week later, he showed why he is the top player in the country. The Denmark native was the first off the court with a dominating 6-3, 6-1 win over No. 80 Jathan Malik.

Di Feo then put the second point on the board with his 6-3, 6-3 triumph over Myles Schalet on court three. He improves to 23-2 in dual matches this spring and is 15-1 at the No. 3 spot.

After Michigan put its only point on the board with a win at No. 2, the team’s lone senior Herkko Pollanen clinched the title on court five. The Finland, native posted a 6-1, 6-4 victory over Runhao Hua to give the Buckeyes their 12th Big Ten Tournament title.

The Buckeyes earned the conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA Championship. Being ranked No. 2 in the latest ITA rankings, Ohio State will likely host first and second round matches on May 12 and 13. The NCAA Selection Show is scheduled for this Tuesday, May 2 at 5 p.m. on

#2 Ohio State 4, #16 Michigan 1


  1. #2 Mikael Torpegaard (OSU) def. #80 Jathan Malik (MICH) 6-3, 6-1
  2. #123 Alex Knight (MICH) def. #41 JJ Wolf (OSU) 6-3, 6-4
  3. #9 Hugo Di Feo (OSU) def. Myles Schalet (MICH) 6-3, 6-3
  4. Martin Joyce (OSU) vs. Kevin Wong (MICH) 6-4, 5-4, unfinished
  5. Herkko Pollanen (OSU) def. Runhao Hua (MICH) 6-1, 6-4
  6. Kyle Seelig (OSU) vs. Carter Lin (MICH) 6-3, 6-6, unfinished


  1. #14 Herkko Pollanen/Mikael Torpegaard (OSU) def. #22 Connor Johnston/Jathan Malik (MICH) 6-4
  2. #27 Hugo Di Feo/Martin Joyce (OSU) def. Runhao Hua/Alex Knight (MICH) 6-2
  3. Hunter Tubert/JJ Wolf (OSU) vs. Myles Schalet/Kevin Wong (MICH) 4-5, unfinished

Match Notes:
Michigan 22-6, 9-2 Big Ten; National ranking #16
Ohio State 29-3, 11-0 Big Ten; National ranking #2
Order of finish: Doubles (2,1); Singles (1,2,3,5)
Big Ten Men’s Tennis Tournament – Championship Match
Match played indoors on the Basham Courts at the Schwartz Tennis Center.