Feb. 4, 2016

Columbus, Ohio— This Friday Ohio State will be concluding its dual meets schedule with a matchup against Wright State at 5 pm. This will serve as Senior Day for the women, with four seniors- Rachael Dzierzak, Annie Jongekrijg, Katy Luchansky, and Camey Rabold- being honored prior to competition.

As always, live results can be found here and updated will be posted to each team’s Twitter accounts as well.

Parking Information

Fans are encouraged to park at the Neil Avenue Garage. The cost to part is $5 and the garage is connected to McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion. Though the meet begins at 5 p.m., Neil Avenue Garage will not be available to spectators until 4 p.m. If you plan on arriving prior to that please plan on parking elsewhere.

Event Schedule

The meet schedule can be found below:

200 Medley relay           200 Breast
400 IM                                 500 Free
200 Free                             100 Fly
100 Back                             BREAK
100 Breast                        200 IM
200 Fly                                 50 BACK
50 Free                                 50 BREAST
BREAK                                   50 FLY
100 Free                               200 Free Relay
200 Back


Senior Moment

The four women’s swimming seniors listed above will be honored prior to the meet beginning. With competition slated to start at 5 pm, senior day activities will begin about 20 minutes before at 4:40. This group of talented student-athletes includes Ohio State scholar athletes, Big Ten and NCAA Championship performers, Olympic Trial qualifiers, among many more accolades. Be sure to be there in time so you can help us celebrate our seniors!

Last Time Out

Both the men’s and women’s teams had a busy weekend last week, with Kentucky visiting on Friday evening and Buffalo, Michigan, and West Virginia competing on Saturday. On the men’s side, the Buckeyes won three of their four dual meets and on the women’s side they won two of three.

Individually there were several outstanding performers. The divers had another great weekend on both sides, with Hannah Thek winning all four events (three-meter and platform, both days) over the course of the weekend and Colin Zeng won three of four en route to his fourth B1G Diver of the Week honor. Zeng is the first Ohio State swimmer to win four B1G weekly awards in the same season since 2012-13.

The women were particularly successful in their relay events, winning both on Friday and both on Saturday while drawing praise from head coach Bill Dorenkott. For the men, Matt McHugh and DJ MacDonald led the way in terms of individual first place finishes; they each won twice on Friday and once on Saturday, and both stellar swimmers contributed to relay victories against the Wildcats.

Racing to Rio

Here is the most up-to-date list of swimmers who have qualified for Olympic Trials while donning the Scarlet and Gray:

Women: Katie Antal, Meg Bailey*, Amy Bopp, Lindsey Clary, Kaitlyn Ferrara, Anny Jongekrijg, Liz Li*, Macie McNichols, Amanda McNulty, Cheyenne Meek, Camey Rabold, Taylor Vargo, Zulal Zeren*, Alex Norris (post grad), Sam Cheverton* (post grad), Aliena Schmidtke* (post grad)

Men: Andrew Appleby, Jack Barone, Michael DiSalle (post-grad), Chris DiPietro, Josh Fleagle, Mitchell Gour, Steffen Hillmer*, Elliott Keefer (post-grad), Ching Lim*, Joey Long, D.J. MacDonald, Matt McHugh, Jovan Mitrovic*, Greg Nymberg, Henrique Painhas, Brayden Seal, Brad Shannon, Thomas Trace, Dustin Tynes*, Stefano Vrollik, Gus Whiteman, Steven Zimmerman (post-grad)

*represents another country, ineligible to compete at US Olympic Team Trials. Most will try out for their home Olympic teams.

Looking Ahead

With the conclusion of the dual meet schedule, all that stands between Ohio State and the Big Ten Championships is the Winter Invitational next weekend.

For fans looking to attend Big Tens this year: the women’s championships will be Feb. 17-20 in Ann Arbor, Mich. If you’re interested in purchasing tickets you can visit or call 866-296-MTIX.

The men’s championships will be a week later, kicking off on Feb. 24 and concluding Feb. 28. Fans interested in attending the championships in West Lafayette, Ind. Can visit this link here