April 16, 2014


• Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook and Twitter

Meet Information

Heat Sheets

Parking Map April 18

Parking Map April 19

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium on the campus of Ohio State will play host to over 24 collegiate track and field programs, along with several other post-graduate and unattached competitors who have met the entry standards, for the 29th-annual Jesse Owens Track Classic this Friday and Saturday, April 18-19.

The action will get underway Friday, April 18th at 4 p.m. with the women’s javelin and men’s discus. The running events will open Friday with the women’s 5,000 at 8 p.m. under the lights. Saturday’s events will start at 10 a.m.

Like the Jesse Owens Classics of the past, the 2014 edition will serve as a stage for collegiate and post-collegiate athletes to perform at their highest levels in Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium. In its history, the Jesse Owens Track Classic has served as a top venue for many future and former Olympians. Current and past record holders for the Jesse Owens Track Classic include Olympic medalists John Drummond, Michelle Finn, Allen Johnson, Edwin Moses, Dwight Stones and former Buckeyes Diane Dixon, Joe Greene and Butch Reynolds. Others of Olympic fame include Judi Brown, Roger Kingdom, Carl Lewis, Louise Ritter and Calvin Smith, as well as past OSU Olympians Mark Croghan and Stephanie Hightower.

BTN to Air Coverage of JO Classic

The Big Ten Network will provide coverage of the 2014 Jesse Owens Track Classic. It is scheduled to air on BTN the following Sunday, April 27 at 3 p.m. and once again Monday, April 28 at 2 p.m.

JOTC Quick Facts
Days: Friday, April 18 (4:00 p.m. – 9:40 p.m.) and Saturday, April 19 (10:30 a.m. – 4:40 p.m.)
Venue: Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium 
Live Results:;        
Admission: Free

Scheduled Teams

Ohio State (Men and Women)

Michigan State (Men and Women)

Indiana State (Men and Women)

Illinois State (Men and Women)

Miami – Ohio (Men and Women)

Kent State (Men and Women)

Toledo (Women)

Ohio (Women)

Youngstown State (Men and Women)

Wright State (Men and Women)

Eastern Michigan (Men and Women)

Indianapolis (Men and Women)

Murray State (Women)

Central Michigan (Men and Women)

Ohio Wesleyan (Men and Women)

Denison (Men and Women)

Heidelberg (Men and Women)

Charleston – W.V. (Women)

Wheeling Jesuit (Men and Women)

Detroit (Men and Women)

Wayne State (Men and Women)

Shawnee State (Men and Women)

IPFW (Men)

Wabash (Men)

23 Men’s XC/TF Student-Athletes, Korbin Smith Honored at Scholar-Athlete Dinner

The Ohio State men’s cross country and track and field programs had 23 student-athletes honored as Ohio State Scholar-Athletes Monday night at the annual Scholar-Athlete Dinner held in the Archie M. Griffin Ballroom at the Ohio Union.

Former student-athlete and current undergraduate assistant coach for the Buckeyes, Korbin Smith, was also recognized as a finalist for the prestigious Big Ten Medal of Honor. Smith also received the Corwin A. Fergus Memorial Award, which is given to student-athletes who have excelled in athletics, achieved academically, demonstrated positive qualities of character and citizenship and shown potential for success in a graduate or professional program. 

For a full recap of the Scholar-Athlete banquet click here:

Ohio State Ranked 47th in USTFCCCA Week One Rankings

The Buckeyes come in at No. 47 in the April 15 edition of the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) National Team Computer Rankings.

Ohio State is one of seven Big Ten teams ranked in the Top 50, including No. 6 Wisconsin, No. 12 Nebraska, No. 18 Penn State, No. 24 Illinois, No. 48 Iowa and No. 50 Purdue.

Florida is the top-ranked team according to the USTFCCCA rankings, followed by No. 2 Oregon and third-ranked Arkansas.

Last Time Out

Sophomore Billy Stanley picked up his third win in the javelin in as many weeks, highlighting the weekend trip to Athens, Ga., and the Spec Towns National Team Invitational for the Ohio State men’s track and field team.Stanley cleared 72.97 meters (239-5.00), defeating the runner-up athlete by over 21 feet.

The South Park, Pa., native is currently ranked No.5 nationally in the event with a mark of 74.38 meters (244-0.25) set at the Vanderbilt Black and Gold Invitational in March.

Sophomore Julian Vann was also a winner for the Buckeyes, posting a season-best mark of 15.48 meters (50-9.50) in the triple jump. Senior Demoye Bogle captured first in the 110-meter hurdles in a time of 14.38.

Up Next

The Buckeyes will travel to Oxford, Miss., for the Ole Miss Open April 25-26.