Feb. 27, 2005

DOTHAN, Ala. – Rain washed out the final day of the Wiregrass Baseball Classic at Northcutt Field. Ohio State was scheduled to play a non-conference game vs. Iowa Sunday at 11 a.m. and Troy was to meet Middle Tennessee later in the day, but steady rain coming off of the Gulf of Mexico forced the cancellation of games.

The Buckeyes finished the tournament 1-1 after beating Middle Tennessee, 8-4, Friday, before losing to Troy, 6-4, Saturday. Cody Caughenbaugh (Jr., Newark, Ohio/Licking Valley) led the team with a .571 batting average, going 4-for-7 as the Buckeyes’ designated hitter. He had one hit against the Blue Raiders, but then went 3-for-4 against Troy with two singles and a double. Jacob Howell (So., Ashland, Ohio/Ashland) batted 4-for-8 with three singles and his fifth career triple. Paul Farinacci (Sr., Westlake Village, Calif./Agoura) had two hits in the series, but knocked in a team-best four runs. Mike Madsen (Sr., Canfield, Ohio/Notre Dame Cathedral Latin) picked up his 18th-career victory against Middle Tennessee after allowing one run on three hits through 5.0 innings of work.

Several Buckeyes made their first collegiate action in Dothan, Ala. Tony Kennedy (Fr., Bloomington, Ind./Bloomington South) and Eric Fryer (Fr., Reynoldsburg, Ohio/Reynoldsburg) played in both games and had their first collegiate hits in starts against Troy. Matt Angle (Fr., Whitehall, Ohio/Whitehall-Yearling) played against the Blue Raiders as did Cory Luebke (Fr., Maria Stein, Ohio/Marion Local), who pitched three innings in the season opener. Rory Meister (Fr., Mansfield, Ohio/Mansfield Madison) pitched 2.0 innings of relief against Troy. The Buckeyes return to action next weekend at the Keith LeClair Classic at East Carolina in Greenville, N.C. Ohio State will open against Georgia, a team that advanced to the 2004 College World Series, Friday at 2 p.m., before meeting North Carolina Saturday at 2 p.m. and Arizona State Sunday at 10 a.m. All three teams were in the NCAA tournament last season and are ranked in 2005.