November 16, 2018

Ohio State Turns Up The Heat At The OSU Invitational


Friday Results

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The No. 11 and No. 23 Ohio State men and women’s swimming & diving teams continued with the heat on Friday at the Ohio State Invitational held at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion. Battling with some of the top teams in the country, the Buckeyes posted 20 new career-best times, 47 season-bests and 10 NCAA B Cuts.

Michael Salazar won the 100 Fly, posting a time of 46.84. Ruslan Gaziev won the men’s 200 Free with a career-best time of 1:34.97. Jacob Fielding won the 3-Meter diving title with a season-high score of 419.55. On the women’s side, Hanna Gresser won the 100 Breast with a time of 59.88. All four times and scores are NCAA B Cuts or zone qualifying standards.

The Ohio State men maintained their first-place lead, accumulating 1790.5 points after two days. No. 21 Notre Dame is second with 1,494 points. The women are third with a point total of 1,258, behind No. 3 Stanford (1755) and No. 14 Notre Dame (1357.5).

• The women’s 200 Medley Relay team of Marianne Kahmann, Hanna Gresser, Rebekah Bradley and Maria Coy finished in third with a season-best time of 1:38.47.
• Bradley was the top Buckeye in the 100 Fly, claiming 10th with a season-best time of 54.00. Former OSU swimmer Aliena Schmidtke took the win with a time of 51.76. Becca Luft won the C Final by posting a season-best time of 55.03. Gresser (55.45) and Amanda Palutsis (57.54) both recorded season bests.
• Kathrin Demler claimed third in the 400 IM A Final, posting an NCAA B Cut and season-best time of 4:07.06. Kristen Romano won the B Final with a season-best and B Cut time of 4:11.32, followed by Katie Trace in second with a personal-best time of 4:12.44, also a qualifying standard. Sally Tafuto was the C Final winner with a career-best time of 4:15.88, securing the first NCAA B Cut of her career. Georgia Mosher notched a career-best with a time of 4:21.18, and Molly Kowal (4:17.46), Grace Kowal (4:20.04) and Alissa Cook (4:26.31) all turned in season best times.
• Georgia White placed eighth in the 200 Free A Final after setting a career-best of 1:47.45 in the prelim. Kerrigan Vargo won the D Final with a season-best time of 1:48.90. Lucija Jurkovic-Perisa (1:48.49), Mikayla Murphy (1:48.60) and Coy (1:49.76) also set their season-fastest times.
• Gresser was victorious in the 100 Breast A Final, clocking an NCAA B Cut and season-best time of 59.88. Coy won the B Final with her fastest time of the season at 1:02.11, and Katie Wright registered a personal-best time of 1:05.33 in the C Final.
• Bradley took fourth in the 100 Back with a time of 53.05, leading the way for the Buckeyes in the A Final. Kahmann notched a B Cut in the B Final with a time of 53.49, her fastest of the season. Quinn Fike (56.43) and Murphy (55.68) finished with season-bests as well.
• In the 800 Free Relay, Demler, Lucija Jurkovic-Perisa, Trace and White finished fourth with a time of 7:14.12.

• Henrique Painhas, Jason Mathews, Michael Salazar and Mossimo Chavez finished fifth in the 200 Medley Relay with an overall time of 1:27.15, the fastest of the season yet.
• Salazar came out on top in the 100 Fly, posting a season-best time of 46.84 in the A Final. Painhas also represented in the A Final, placing sixth with a time of 47.68. Josef Pohlmann (48.25) won the B Final after setting a career-best in the prelim at 48.24. Lain Weaver and Alex Dillmann tied for first in the D Final (49.69).
• Paul DeLakis was the fastest Buckeye in the 400 IM, taking ninth with a season-best of 3:52.56. Nick Hogsed (3:52.66), Daniel Gloude (3:54.48) and John Sampson (4:04.31) all recorded their fastest times of the season in the final.
• Ruslan Gaziev had a big day in the 200 Free, winning both the prelim and the A Final with a career-best time of 1:34.97, an NCAA B Cut. A slew of season-bests came from the Buckeyes in both sessions: Andrew Loy (1:35.95, also an NCAA B Cut), Matthew Abeysinghe (1:38.07) and Austin Mortimer (1:41.03) posted theirs in the final.
• Mathews claimed second in the 100 Breast, narrowly missing first with a time of 53.89 which ties his career-best. Evan McFadden (55.07), Connor Isings (55.88) and Hudson McDaniel (56.06) saw their quickest times of the season.
• Loy finished second in the 100 Back, posting an NCAA B Cut of 47.65, a career-best. Painhas was close behind in third with a time of 47.73, also an NCAA B Cut. Gaziev earned a personal best with a time of 49.93. Evan Stapp (50.89), Ben Sugar (49.51), John Sampson (49.97) and Ben Kuriger (50.20) touched the wall at season-best times.
• DeLakis, Loy, Ryan Vander Meulen and Gaziev were third in the 800 Free Relay with a time of 6:29.89.

• Jacob Fielding won the 3-Meter final with a season-high score of 419.55. Christo Law also scored a season-high, finishing third with a total of 393.20.
• Lara Tarvit was the lone Buckeye to advance to the finals on the 1-Meter board, placing third with a score of 271.50.

• Hannah Whiteley posted a season-best in the 100 Fly with a time of 58.65; Kalvin Koethke (50.40), Michael Lynch (50.85), Colin McDermott (51.31) and Evan McFadden (53.46) all recorded their quickest times of the season on the men’s side.
• Trey Gribble set a new career-best time in the 400 IM at 4:02.26. Alex Jahan registered a season-best at 4:01.97. Reed McGraw’s time of 4:04.82 was also a season-best. Natalia Jaspeado earned a season-best with a time of 4:22.30.
• In the men’s 200 Free, Teo Chavez (1:41.75) and Brad Shannon (1:39.67) both set new career-best times. Ryan Vander Meulen (1:38.40), Carson Burt (1:40.67) Lain Weaver (1:41.02), Jason Mathews (1:42.42), Michael Lynch (1:42.78), Sem Andreis (1:44.23) and Josef Pohlmann (1:46.92) recorded season-bests. Quinn Fike (1:52.01), Lauren Kurzydlo (1:52.17), Kendyl Ferrara (1:52.91) and Brooke Glesenkamp (1:52.91) did the same on the women’s side.
• Stefano Batista posted a career-best time in the 100 Breast at 55.10. Paul DeLakis (55.02), Alex Jahan (55.90) and Dom Harry (57.78) added season-bests.
• Colin McDermott registered a career-best in the 100 Back with a time of 48.31. Colin Roy secured a season-best with a time of 52.22, Brad Shannon posted his fastest of the season at 48.42, RJ Kondalski did the same at 49.06. Lucija Jurkovic-Perisa collected a career-best time of 55.35. Hannah Whiteley recorded a season-best time of 55.09, Devin Landstra followed with a time of 55.15 and Emma Fish did the same at 57.19. Taylor Petrak swam her first 100 Back of the season with a time of 58.84.

The final day of the Ohio State Invitational begins tomorrow at 10 a.m. at McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion.