May 13, 2005


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State men’s and women’s track and field teams opened the 2005 Big Ten Outdoor Championships Friday at Ohio State’s Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium. Behind four Buckeyes that placed in the Top 5 in the men’s and women’s hammer throws, Ohio State sits in fourth place in the women’s standings with 17 points after three events, while the men rank fifth with five points after two events.

The women’s hammer team placed three of the Top 5 finishers, led by senior Shelaine Larson, who placed second. For the men, fellow senior Bryan Duby took third place in the men’s hammer.

Larson reached 197 feet, 1 inch for her runner-up mark, placing behind Penn State’s Jennifer Leatherman and her throw of 199-3. Teammates and fellow seniors Tiffany Davis and Katy Houser finished fourth and fifth at measures of 189-9 and 189-6 respectively. In all, Larson, Davis and Houser accounted for all 17 of Ohio State’s team points after the first day.

The men’s team received six points from Duby’s third-place finish in the hammer. The native of Silver Lake, Ohio reached 197 feet, 4 inches on his second throw, but fell behind eventual winner J.P. Smolenski of Purdue, who tossed 207-10 in his first throw.

Following a delay of more than an hour because of inclement weather, the night was completed with the running of the men’s and women’s 10,000 meters. Junior Dan Glaz headed the field for the Buckeyes with an 11th place standing in a time of 31:01.23.

The Big Ten championships continue Saturday with the men’s decathlon 110-meter hurdles. Complete results for the event can be accessed at

Women – Team Rankings – 3 Events Scored =============================================================================== 1) Wisconsin 24 2) Penn State 19.50 3) Michigan State 18 4) Ohio State 17 5) Minnesota 15.50 6) Michigan 11 7) Purdue 6 7) Illinois 6

Men – Team Rankings – 2 Events Scored =============================================================================== 1) Wisconsin 22 2) Purdue 15 3) Minnesota 14 4) Iowa 8 5) Illinois 6 5) Ohio State 6 7) Penn State 4 8) Indiana 2 9) Michigan 1