Feb. 4, 2016

RELATED INFO: 2015-16 Schedule | 2015-16 Roster | Big Ten Wrestling | Wrestling Camps | Follow the Buckeyes on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

COLUMBUS, Ohio — Ohio State has been selected as one of eight host sites for the 2016 NWCA Division I National Championship Dual Series, the organization announced today.

The Buckeyes will face a non-conference foe to be determined on Sunday, Feb. 21 inside St. John Arena. The selection of Ohio State’s opponent will occur on Feb 14. The format is to match the top eight Big Ten programs (seven are currently ranked in the Top 13) against the dual meet champions from the seven other Division I conferences. There will be one at-large team selected based on their national ranking even though they didn’t win the dual meet championship of their conference.

Heading into this weekend, the leading contenders from non-Big Ten schools to be included are Arizona State (Pac 12), Oklahoma State (Big XXII), Lehigh (EIWA), Edinboro (EWL), Missouri (MAC) North Carolina State or Virginia Tech (ACC), Chattanooga/Appalachian State/Gardner-Webb (SoCon) and Cornell (Ivy League).

Other Big Ten host schools include Penn State, Iowa, Michigan, Nebraska, Rutgers, Indiana and Minnesota.

“The concept is similar to the bowl game series in football,” NWCA President Mark Cody said. “This format was developed by the Division I wrestling coaches and the NWCA’s role is to ensure that it gets off the ground. Our goal is to have the top eight ranked Big Ten schools host a non-Big Ten opponent with one of the duals determining the national dual meet title.”

Ticket prices will range from $15 for adult reserved seats to $5 for general admission groups. A full list on prices can be found at