Aug. 9, 2004

COLUMBUS, Ohio– Sophomore Joey Atas and former Buckeye Erica Fisk, both members of the Ohio State men’s and women’s tennis teams this past spring, were named scholar-athletes by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Monday. Atas and Fisk received the honor for both their academic marks and achievements on the court during the 2003-04 season. Fisk, a three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection and a four-time OSU scholar-athlete, carries a 3.48 G.P.A. as an exercise science major. Atas, named an OSU scholar-athlete after his first season with the Buckeyes, holds a 4.0 G.P.A. and is considering a physical therapy major.

Atas (So., Baltimore, Md./Calvert Hall) was named 2004 Big Ten Freshman of the Year, the first in Ohio State program history, and was named the Midwest Region IV rookie of the year. He was ranked No. 50 in the ITA Division I Singles polls Feb. 24 and finished the season ranked No. 15 in the final Midwest Region IV singles polls. Atas holds the record at Ohio State for season doubles wins with 31 victories and surpassed former Buckeyes Richard Berry (1996) and Derek DeFalco (2000, 01) who last held the season doubles record with 30 wins. Atas was selected to the NCAA doubles championship with senior partner Jeremy Wurtzman and together the duo advanced to the second round in NCAA doubles play. The pair finished the season ranked No. 29 in national doubles and No. 2 in the Midwest Region IV polls.

Fisk (Sr., Indianapolis, Ind./Pike), a four-year starter for the Buckeyes, earned the honor for the second-consecutive year. With 17 singles victories and 17 doubles victories in 2004, Fisk finished her career in the Top 10 in both career categories at Ohio State. Her 79 career singles victories place her at No. 5, ahead of former Buckeye Linda Magid (1995-96), while her 80 all-time doubles wins eclipsed No. 8 Yvonne Lohrer (1985-88) by one as well. Fisk, who recorded a pair of 20 win seasons while at Ohio State (2002 and 2003), ended her career on a high note by earning the clinching match against Iowa in the semifinal round at the Big Ten Championship.