COLUMBUS, Ohio­­­­­ ­ The Ohio State women’s swimming and diving team (1-2) travels to take on the nationally-ranked University of Southern California at 4 p.m. (EST) Friday at McDonald’s Swim Stadium. The Women of Troy are ranked No. 15 in the latest College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) poll.

The Buckeyes are coming off a 167.5-121.5 loss to the University of Washington last Friday. The Ohio State swimmers won three events and had five second-place finishes. Coach Vince Panzano’s divers swept all three places in the one- and three-meter events.

Ohio State has a win over Kenyon College and losses to Ohio and Washington so far this season. Freshman Samantha Cheverton has recorded an NCAA “B” cut time in the 500 freestyle already. Cheverton has won three individual events this year. Fellow freshman Katelyn Brix leads the list of individual winners with four, while Anita Beck has three wins and Colleen Schweitzer has two.

Head coach Dave Salo enters his second year at the helm of the USC swimming program. The Women of Troy finished the 2006-07 season with a 5-4 overall record and a 3-4 record in the Pac 10 Conference.

USC returns 11 swimmers and divers with NCAA Championship meet experience, including All-American Rebecca Soni. The junior is a two-time NCAA champion in the 200-yard breaststroke and finished sixth in the 100 breaststroke at the NCAA’s.

The Women of Troy are coming off a close 158-141 loss to Arizona State. Soni captured wins in both breaststroke events, while senior Whitney Hentzen won the 500 and 1,000 freestyle events for USC.
Katelyn Brix picked up two wins for the Buckeyes, including Ohio State’s first win of the night in the 1,000 freestyle. The freshman recorded a season-best time of 10:05.01. Brix also came away with a first-place finish in the 200 individual medley (2:06.13).

The 400 freestyle relay, comprised of senior Linda Lund-Kristiansen, freshman Anita Beck, senior Annie Rennebohm and freshman Samantha Cheverton, took first place in a time of 3:32.10. 

On the boards, Chelsea Davis claimed her first win on the one-meter board with 365.10 points and was followed by freshmen Bianca Alvarez and Kristen Asman. Alvarez took first in the three-meter after recording 350.03 points and was followed by Davis and Asman.

Cheverton swam an NCAA “B” cut time of 4:53.73 in the 500 freestyle to finish in a close second. Other second place finishers for the Buckeyes were Cheverton in the 200 freestyle (1:50.58), Beck in the 200 butterfly (2:04.18) and sophomore Jill Lockhart in the 200 backstroke (2:04.74) and 200 individual medley (2:10.07).

Ohio State will host the third annual Ohio State Swimming and Diving Invitational, Nov. 30-Dec. 2. The women will compete against Minnesota, South Carolina, Denver, Illinois, Iowa, Michigan State and Bowling Green.

Head women’s swimming coach Jeanne Fleck enters her ninth year as head coach of Buckeyes. In her eight years at Ohio State, she has worked to improve the team and gain recognition on the conference and national levels.

Last season’s campaign saw the Buckeyes finish 6-3 overall and take eighth in the Big Ten Championships, sending two swimmers to the 2007 NCAA Championships. Fleck also guided the team to a second place finish at the second annual Ohio State Invitational held at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion. 

During her tenure at Ohio State she has geared the Buckeyes to 12 school records. The Buckeyes had the highest grade point average in the Big Ten conference in 2004 and was ranked ninth in the country during fall quarter of 2003. In six seasons, Fleck has had 53 Academic All-Big Ten selections and 98 OSU Scholar-Athletes.

Vince Panzano is coach of the Ohio State men’s and women’s diving teams. Panzano, who was named the 2004 Big Ten Diving Coach of the Year for the eighth time in his career, has produced one world champion, one junior world champion, two Olympic medalists, 22 U.S. Diving champions, ten NCAA champions, 14 NCAA runners-up, 48 Big Ten champions and 69 NCAA All-Americans.

The Buckeyes host the third annual Ohio State Invitational, Nov. 30-Dec. 2, at the McCorkle Aquatics Pavilion.