March 19, 2022

Ohio State Takes Fifth at Big Ten Championships


ADDITIONAL INFO: Results | Ohio State Roster | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram  ­


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The No. 16 Ohio State women’s gymnastics team finished fifth at the 2022 Big Ten Championship meet with a final score of 196.700 Saturday night at the Covelli Center. Colby Miller earned her first career Big Ten title, and the program’s 26th individual title, with a first-place tying score of 9.950.

Miller, a senior from Mason, Ohio, is the program’s second Big Ten uneven bars champion in four seasons. The team’s last bars champion was Olivia Aepli in 2018.

In addition to Miller’s conference title winning and career-best tying 9.950 score, the Buckeyes broke a program record on bars with a final score of 49.425 on the apparatus. The team’s previous high score in the event was 49.375, which the team scored at Kent State in the final road meet of the regular season. Alexis Hankins tied for fifth with a career-best 9.900. Stephanie Berger (9.875), Lexi Edwards (9.850) and Nicole Riccardi (9.800) also scored for Ohio State.

The team’s next best event finish of the night was a 49.350 on floor in the opening rotation. Claire Gagliardi and Hankins led the Buckeyes with 9.900s. Freshman Hlavach, sophomore Jojo Warga and junior Savannah Gonzalez each tallied 9.850s. Ohio State recorded the third-best floor score at the meet.

In the second rotation, Ohio State was on vault. The team scored a total of 49.200 points, led by Edwards with a 9.875. Jennings performed a 9.850 vault while Hlavach (9.800), Nicole Riccardi (9.800) and Emma Pritchard (9.800) rounded out Ohio State’s scoring.

Ohio State competed on beam to close out the conference championship, led by freshman Stephanie Berger with a score of 9.800. Jennings and Emma Pritchard earned marks of 9.775 while Hankins (9.725) and Hannah Oliveros (9.650) scored for the Buckeyes.

Up Next

The Buckeyes await the NCAA Women’s Gymnastics Selection Show set for noon ET Tuesday, March 22 to see if the team or individuals have qualified for the NCAA Championships.