COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s swimming and diving team closed out its dual meet season with four wins at the Shamrock Invitational in South Bend, Ind., this weekend and in the process set a school record for single season wins. The No. 18-ranked Buckeyes, under the direction of third-year coach Bill Dorenkott, finished the 2010-11 dual meet campaign with an 11-1 record.

In the final weekend of racing prior to the Big Ten championships, which will be held Feb. 16-19 at the Indiana University, Ohio State powered through the championship format schedule to defeat Notre Dame 197-166.5, Northwestern 205-159, Iowa 256-94, and Denver 238-120. The team, competing without the aid of its divers, who are in Iowa City, Iowa, at the U.S. Diving National Championships, won 11 races during the two-day, three-session invitational.  

Sophomore sprinter Megan Detro was part of six wins – individual wins in the 50, 100 and 200 freestyle events plus three relay wins – to spark the Buckeyes. She teamed with Alex Norris, Samantha Cheverton and Anita Beck to set a new Rolfs Aquatic Center record in the 800 free relay in 7:22.85. The mark bested a record from 1991 by a Michigan quartet that had stood as the third-oldest record in the facility.

Four other Buckeyes were victorious this weekend: Shannon Draves won both the 100 butterfly (55.91) and the 200 butterfly (2:02.61); Cheverton won the 500 free in 4:51.70; Norris captured the 200 individual medley in 2:04.66; and Kelly Ann Baird won the 1,650 freestyle in 16:49.40.

Ohio State also had a number of runner-up finishes, including Angela Severn in the 400 individual medley, Cheverton in the 200 freestyle and the 200 backstroke, Natalie Nichols in the 1,650 freestyle and Norris in the 200 butterfly.

In addition to the record win in the 800 free relay, the Buckeyes also got relay wins from its 200 medley relay team of Kelsey Moran, Severn, Norris and Detro (1:43.57) and from its 400 freestyle relay team of Beck, Cheverton, Detro and Norris in 3:23.22.  

Women’s Swimming

Friday & Saturday, Jan. 28/29, 2011

South Bend, Ind.

Rolfs Aquatic Center

Team Scores: 

Ohio State 197.5, Notre Dame 166.5

Ohio State 205, Northwestern 159

Ohio State 256, Iowa 94

Ohio State 238, Denver 120

Ohio State Event Winners: 500 freestyle – Cheverton, 4:51.70; 200 IM – Norris, 2:04.66; 50 freestyle – Detro, 23.05; 200 medley relay – Moran, Severn, Norris, Detro, 1:43.57; 100 butterfly – Draves, 55.91; 200 freestyle – Detro, 1:49.78; 800 free relay – Norris, Detro, Cheverton, Beck, 7:22.85; 1,650 freestyle – Baird, 16:49.40; 100 freestyle – Detro, 50.32; 200 butterfly – Draves, 2:02.61; 400 free relay – Beck, Cheverton, Detro, Norris, 3:23.22.