November 7, 2016

Ohio State Set to Take On Dayton in NCAA First Round


Nov. 7, 2016

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s soccer team has been selected to host Dayton in the first round of the NCAA Tournament Saturday in Columbus. The match is slated for 6 p.m. at Bert L. & Iris S. Wolstein Field at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium.

“We’re extremely excited to be included in a great field of 64,” Lori Walker, Ohio State head coach, said. “I’m proud of the work we did throughout the year that positioned us to be included. At this point in the year, it’s all about continuing to do the things that made us successful. We need to bring our speed of play and bring a winners’ mentality to everything we do.”

Ohio State concluded the regular season with a 10-6-3 overall record, 4-4-3 in conference play. 2016 marks the Buckeyes’ 11th NCAA Tournament and seventh in the last eight seasons. Ohio State is 11-9-2 all-time in NCAA Tournament contests, all under the direction of Walker.

Lindsay Agnew leads the Buckeyes with 10 goals and seven assists while Nichelle Prince has tallied five goals and five assists and Sammy Edwards has notched five goals and a pair of assists.

“This feels like a rebirth to us,” senior co-captain Lindsay Agnew said. “We’ve had some rest, have been able to re-charge and we’re looking forward to playing Dayton. We didn’t know if we were going to get a chance to play at home again so I’m just really excited to get that opportunity. Our team knows how we have to play to beat the best and we’ve proven we can play quality soccer. We just need to bring it this weekend.”

Dayton is 9-9-3 on the year after winning the Atlantic 10 Tournament championship. Alexis Kiehl leads the Flyers and is tied for the NCAA lead with 20 goals to go along with five assists while Libby Leedom has added nine goals and five assists. Goalkeeper Kaelyn Johns has posted a 1.01 goals-against average with six clean sheets.

The Big Ten led all conferences with eight teams in the NCAA Tournament. Ohio State was joined by Minnesota, Penn State, Rutgers, Wisconsin, Northwestern, Michigan and Nebraska. Four other 2016 opponents also qualified including Kent State, Florida Gulf Coast, West Virginia and BYU.