Feb. 26, 2013

Championship Central | Live Results

No. 13 Ohio State at 2013 Big Ten Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships
Feb. 27-March 2, 2013
Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center
Bloomington, Ind.
TV: BTN (Tape Delay – March 9 at 10 a.m. ET)

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The No. 13 Ohio State men’s swimming and diving team is set to compete at the 2013 Big Ten Conference Championships at Indiana University. The four-day meet begins Wednesday evening with two relay finals and extends through Saturday evening at Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center.

Ohio State finished second at the 2012 Big Ten Championships, marking the fourth-consecutive year the Buckeyes have placed in the Top 3 in the conference. Jason Schnur and Shane Miszkiel each earned first team All-Big Ten honors, while Zach Holmes, Zach Birnbrich, Alex Miller and Christian Holstein were second team honorees. Schnur won the 50 and 100 freestyle events, while Miszkiel claimed his first Big ten title in the one-meter diving competition.

Ohio State has won 13 Big Ten championships. Only Michigan (36) and Indiana (24) have more conference titles than Ohio State.

Ohio State will carry a nice mixture of returning championships point scorers and championship rookies into the meet. A total of 15 members return who scored points in 2012, including 12 swimmers who combined for 22 finals swims. They are:

2012-13 UPDATE
The Buckeyes, under 24th-year swimming coach Bill Wadley and 35th-year diving coach Vince Panzano, are coming off an 8-2 dual meet season and a 1-2 Big Ten dual record. The team won the Ohio State Invitational Dec. 2 in Columbus, while posting a perfect 6-0 record at McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion. Last summer, the Buckeyes sent a program-record 28 swimmers to the U.S. Olympic Trials. 

The Buckeyes have been ranked all season in the CSCAA Division I Team Rankings and are 13th in the final poll released Feb 20. Michigan (8-0, 6-0) leads the Big Ten at No. 3 followed by No. 8 Indiana (8-3, 4-1), No. 14 Minnesota (6-1, 4-1), No. 20 Iowa (7-3, 2-3) and No. 24 Penn State (5-2, 0-1).

Ohio State will enter the championships with all five of its relays among the Big Ten’s Top 2 and one  relay – 400 free relay – is the fastest in the conference to date.

  • 1st – 400 free relay (2:53.15)
  • 2nd – 200 free relay (1:17.84), 800 free relay (6:27.76), 200 medley relay (1:26.79), 400 medley relay (3:10.55)

Ohio State swimmers have achieved an NCAA “B” cut in the following events:

50 freestyle Jason Schnur (19.87), Zach Birnbrich (19.97)
100 frees
tyle – Schnur (43.31), Zach Holmes (43.92)
200 freestyle
– Holmes (1:35.83), Alex Miller (1:36.36), Michael DiSalle (1:36.52), Rowan Williams (1:37.05), Michael Meldon (1:37.71)
500 freestyle
  – Miller (4:19.51), Williams (4:21.85), Holmes (4:24.73)
1650 freestyle
  – Miller (15:19.20), Williams (15:26.30)
100 backstroke
Connor McDonald (47.46), Steven Zimmerman (47.75), Garrett Trebilcock (47.77)
200 backstroke
  – Zimmerman (1:42.83), McDonald (1:43.49)
100 breaststroke
Keanu Stevenson (54.00), Dak Stone (54.25), DJ MacDonald (55.03), Chris Cowley (55.32)
200 breaststroke
– Stone (1:58.75), Cowley (1:59.24), Stevenson (1:59.68)
100 butterfly
  – Tim Phillips (47.03), Tamas Gercsak (47.42), Garrett Trebilcock (47.48), Schnur (47.88)
200 butterfly
  – Gercsak (1:44.55), Luke Stirton (1:46.77), Trebilcock (1:47.31), Ryan Bubb (1:47.59)
200 IM
–  Gercsak (1:46.09), Zimmerman (1:47.16), Trebilcock (1:47.90), Chris DePietro (1:48.69), Stevenson (1:49.01)
400 IM
  – Zimmerman (3:49.15), DePietro (3:52.77)


  • An attest to Ohio State’s depth, 23 swimmers have times in the Top 100 in the nation.
  • The Buckeyes have recorded 52 times which rank in the Top 100 nationally.
  • Jason Schnur is first in the Big Ten in the 100 free (43.310) and fifth in the conference in the 50 free (19.87).
  • Zach Holmes ranks third in the league in the 200 free (1:35.83), while Alex Miller is third in the conference in the 500 free (4:19.51).
  • Tamas Gercsak is 10th in the country in the 200 butterfly, while Steven Zimmerman is 13th in the 200 backstroke.
  • Two members hold Top 25 marks in the 200 backstroke, including Connor McDonald and Zimmerman.
  • Fourteen Buckeyes hold Top 5 individual times in the Big Ten Conference: Zach Holmes, Jason Schnur, Zach Birnbrich, Michael DiSalle, Rowan Williams, Garrett Trebilcock, Zimmerman, Alex Miller, Connor McDonald, Stone, Gercsak, Chris Cowley, Chris DePietro and Luke Stirton.
  • In the 200 freestyle, OSU maintains four Top 10 spots in the Big Ten. Holmes (200 freestyle) and Gercsak (200 butterfly) each earned a runner-up Big Ten ranking in their respective events.

Head swimming coach Bill Wadley announced this season that seniors Zach Holmes and Andrew Keily have been named captains for the Buckeyes. Both natives of Houston, Texas, Wadley said he is excited with the leadership the team has a month away from the Big Ten championships.

“We are pleased that both Andrew and Zach were chosen as captains by the team to lead this team,” Wadley said. “They are great young men who are fantastic Buckeyes in every way.”

Holmes, a 2012 Second Team All-Big Ten and honorable mention All-American, is a three-time OSU Scholar-Athlete and Academic All-Big Ten. Holmes has been a part of the “A” free relay team since his freshman year and has the team’s fastest 200 free time (1:53.83) and second-fastest 100 free time (43.92).

Keily, a three-time OSU Scholar-Athlete and Academic All-Big Ten, Keily has specialized in distance freestyle for the Scarlet and Gray.  A sports and leisure studies major, Keily has the fourth fastest time in the 1650 freestyle this season.

Junior Ohio State diver Shane Miszkiel earned the Big Ten Conference’s Diver of the Week award for the fifth time, the conference announced Jan 30.

Miszkiel has now won seven career weekly awards and becomes the first men’s diver to earn five Big Ten laurels since former Boilermaker and 2012 Olympian David Boudia accomplished the feat during the 2010-11 campaign.   A native of Victoria, B.C., Miszkiel was first in the one-meter (406.50) and three-meter (420.98) diving events last weekend to help the No. 10 Buckeyes defeat Cincinnati at McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion.

In the best competition field to date at the OSU Invitational, the Buckeyes posted its fourth-consecutive championship with 1,306 total points. Ohio State claimed the title by a 300-point margin of victory, while then fifth-ranked Florida earned runner-up honors with 997.5 points.

An outstanding three-day team effort, Nov. 30 – Dec. 2, resulted in 10 of 18 races going in the Scarlet and Gray’s favor. A total of six different Buckeyes registered an individual win, while six more Buckeyes were part of a victorious relay team or teams.

In diving, junior Shane Miszkiel, a four-time Big Ten Diver of the Week honoree, captured the platform finals with a total score of 363.10.

Jason Schnur was named Big Ten Co-Swimmer of the Week, the conference office announced on Dec. 4. The Buckeye senior shared the honor with Miguel Oritz of Michigan.

Schnur, from Oak Hills High in Cincinnati, helped Ohio State claim its fourth-consecutive OSU Invitational with five first place finishes and three NCAA automatic qualifying marks. The two-time Big Ten champion won the 100 freestyle (43.31) and was a part of four first-place relay teams including the 200 free (1:17.84), 400 free (2:53.15), 200 medley (1:26.79) and 400 medley (3:10.55). Schnur also finished second in the 50 free (19.93).