COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State fencing team will send 11 to the 2010 NCAA Championships March 25-28 in Boston, Mass., on the campus of Harvard. The Buckeyes fell one short of the maximum 12 fencers allowed, but remain in the top echelon as one of only five programs sending 10 or more athletes.

Freshmen Marco Canevari and Bryan Cheney are getting their first NCAA Championships experience after automatically qualifying in the NCAA Midwest Regional last weekend. They are joined on the women’s side by newcomer Alison Miller. Canevari and Cheney will compete in epee and sabre, respectively, while Miller is one half of the Buckeyes’ women’s sabre squad. Sophomore Allison Henvick is another new face for the Scarlet and Gray at the championships, competing in women’s sabre.

Men’s foilists Colin Sutter and Ben Parkins, men’s epeeist Igor Tolkachev, men’s sabreist Max Stearns and women’s sabreist Margarita Tschomakova will be making their second appearance at the NCAA Championships.

Junior Oksana Dmytruk will compete in women’s foil for the third-consecutive season, joined by senior Julia Tikhonova in women’s epee.

The Buckeyes last won the national championship in 2008 and have finished in the Top 5 in each of the last nine seasons.

Ohio State Men
Igor Tolkachev (Epee)
Marco Canevari (Epee)
Ben Parkins (Foil)
Colin Sutter (Foil)
Bryan Cheney (Sabre)
Max Stearns (Sabre)

Ohio State Women
Julia Tikhonova (Epee)
Allison Henvick (Foil)
Oksana Dmytruk (Foil)
Alison Miller (Sabre)
Margarita Tschomakova (Sabre)