May 17, 1999

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State University has been chosen to host one of the 16 NCAA Baseball Regionals, the NCAA Baseball Committee announced Monday. The selection guarantees the Buckeyes will be an at-large selection to play in the enlarged 64-team field. It is the first time Ohio State will play host to an NCAA Baseball Regional.%^$

%^$ Each of the 16 regionals consist of four teams playing a double-elimination format. The tournament will begin Friday, May 28, and run through Sunday, May 30. The full field of 64 teams will be announced Monday, May 24, at 3 p.m. Eastern time.%^$

%^$ The committee also selected the following cities to serve as hosts: Tuscaloosa, Ala. (University of Alabama); Fayetteville, Ark. (University of Arkansas); Auburn, Ala. (Auburn University); Waco, Texas (Baylor University); Tallahassee, Fla. (Florida State University); Houston, Texas (University of Houston); Baton Rouge, La. (Louisiana State University); Coral Gables, Fla. (University of Miami); Los Angeles, Calif. (University of Southern California); Palo Alto, Calif. (Stanford University); College Station, Texas (Texas A&M University); Lubbock, Texas (Texas Tech University); Winston-Salem, N.C. (Wake Forest University); Wichita, Kan. (Wichita State University).%^$

%^$ All games in the Columbus, Ohio, regional will be played at Bill Davis Stadium. Game times are as follows:%^$

%^$Friday, May 28: 3 p.m. and 7 p.m.%^$Saturday, May 29: 11 a.m., 3 p.m., 7 p.m.%^$Sunday, May 30: 1 p.m. and 4 p.m.%^$

%^$Ticket information may be obtained by calling the Ohio State Ticket Office at 292-2624 or 1-800-GO-BUCKS.%^$


-Go Bucks!-