Award Is the Only College Football Honor Determined Exclusively by Fan Voting

SAN ANTONIO – Ohio State running back Chris Wells is one of four nominees for the AT&T All-America Player of the Week award, and now it’s up to the fans to determine the winner. Wells joins Tulane running back Matt Fort, Texas Tech quarterback Graham Harrell and Missouri wide receiver Jeremy Maclin on the ballot list, which was selected by ESPN based on the players’ outstanding performances during the week. Fans can determine the winner by text messaging VOTE to 87654 on their wireless phone.

Wells rushed for a career-high of 222 yards on a career-high 39 carries and scored two touchdowns in Ohio State’s win at Michigan. Fort ran for 194 yards and tied his own school and league record with five touchdowns in Tulane’s win over Rice. Harrell threw for 420 yards and two touchdowns in Texas Tech’s upset over Oklahoma. Maclin scored three touchdowns with 194 kickoff return yards to set the single-season freshmen record for all-purpose yardage in Missouri’s win over Kansas State.

Fans have until 11:59 p.m. EST on Wednesday to submit their votes. The winner will be announced Nov. 22 during Thursday’s ESPN College Football Primetime Presented by Applebee’s college football game between University of Southern California and Arizona State. There is no limit on fan voting, and each vote counts as one entry into a sweepstakes to win a trip to the 2008 BCS National Championship game in New Orleans, La. The AT&T All-America Player of the Week program will continue throughout the season, with the nominees being revealed each Sunday on ESPN SportsCenter at 9 a.m. ET and on the Web at AT&T customers can visit AT&T’s wireless NCAA Football Portal on their handsets to view video highlights of each week’s candidates, retrieve photos, check scorecards, track their favorite teams and download school ringtones.

In December, four finalists for the AT&T All-America Player of the Year award will be announced during a one-hour special on ABC Sports when the Football Writers Association of America All-America team will also be announced. Fans will then get a chance to say who the best player in the nation is by voting for the AT&T All-America Player of the Year up until the Bowl Championship Series. Voting ends on Jan. 4 and the winner will be announced during the BCS National Championship game on FOX on Jan. 8.

Last year, University of Notre Dame quarterback Brady Quinn was crowned as the AT&T All-America Player of the Year, beating out Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith, the Heisman Trophy winner, Rutgers running back Ray Rice and Hawaii quarterback Colt Brennan. Voting for the AT&T All-America Player of the Year was the highest total in the three year history of the award.