May 7, 2014


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s volleyball team is slated to play 32 regular season matches during the 2014 campaign, including 13 home contests inside St. John Arena. The schedule includes a 20-match Big Ten docket preceded by four weekends of non-conference action to start the season.

“Our 2014 schedule will again be one that challenges us and prepares us for the Big Ten season,” said head coach Geoff Carlston. “We will have 17 matches against teams who made the NCAA Tournament last season and 14 against teams ranked in the top-25.”

Season tickets for all home matches are on sale now, saving nearly 50% off the door price. Contact the Athletic Ticket Sales Team at 1-800-GOBUCKS (select option 2) or for details and information. Reserve your seat with just a $25 deposit.

“We had more injuries last year than in my five previous years combined,” added Carlston. “We are all excited to have those kids back healthy and ready to play again.”

Complete Schedule *Subject to change

Ohio State opens up out west in Eugene, Ore., facing the Oregon Ducks, Illinois State and Central Arkansas (Aug. 29-30). Next up is the 9th Annual Sports Imports D.C. Koehl Classic on Sept. 5th and 7th when St. John Arena serves as the host venue for round-robin action against Auburn, Florida Gulf Coast and Southern Illinois.

The Buckeyes will then spend back-to-back weekends in southwest Ohio competing in events at Xavier (Sept. 12-13) and Miami (OH) (Sept. 19-20). In addition to squaring off with the Musketeers while in Cincinnati, Ohio State will take on Syracuse and Ohio. The Buckeyes’ trip to Oxford pits them against the RedHawks, UAB and IUPUI.

Ohio State’s 12 non-conference opponents combined to post a season record 88 games above .500 in 2013 (237-149, .614). The challenging lineup also contains four 2013 NCAA Qualifiers in Central Arkansas, IUPUI, Ohio and Oregon.

Conference season will be a dogfight once again. Eight Big Ten institutions advanced to the NCAA Tournament in 2013, including an all-time record seven conference schools reaching the Sweet 16. The national title match was an All-B1G showdown featuring Penn State topping Wisconsin.

The B1G gauntlet begins on Wednesday, Sept. 24 when Ohio State hits the road en route to Minnesota for the start of a four-game road trip that also entails trips to Wisconsin (Sept. 28), Iowa (Oct. 3) and Nebraska (Oct. 4).

St. John Arena opens its doors for Big Ten battles versus Illinois (Oct. 8) and Northwestern (Oct. 11) before its back to life on the road for the Buckeyes with a trek to Indiana to play the Hoosiers and Purdue (Oct. 17-18).

Five of the next six contests will take place in Columbus. A home-and-away series with Penn State (at Oct. 28, vs. Oct. 31) is bookended by a pair of home weekends; Michigan State and Michigan (Oct. 24-25), Maryland and Rutgers (Nov. 7-8).

The final three weeks consist of a Wednesday-Friday/Saturday set-up. First is a week of travel, rolling to Illinois (Nov. 12) and Michigan (Nov. 15). The Buckeyes follow that up by welcoming in Iowa (Nov. 19) and Wisconsin (Nov. 21) before a split week that includes a home bout versus Minnesota on Nov. 26 and a jaunt to the east coast at Rutgers on Nov. 29 to wrap up the regular season.