Jan. 13, 2014

COLUMBUS, Ohio — The Ohio State men’s lacrosse coaches, team, administrators and fans were recognized with the James “Ace” Adams Sportsmanship Award Saturday at the US Lacrosse Convention in Philadelphia. The honor recognizes programs that demonstrated quality sportsmanship and fair play for the 2013 season. Award winners are selected by the USILA College Lacrosse Officials District, with Ohio State chosen for District Six.

The award is named after National Lacrosse Hall of Famer and former Army coach James “Ace” Adams, who also coached at both Virginia and Penn. Adams won the 1958 USILA National Championship, 1959 USILA National Co-Championship, 1961 USILA National Co-Championship, 1980, 1982- 1986 and 1990 Atlantic Coast Conference Championship, as well as being named 1961 USILA Coach of the Year. Beyond his impressive record, Adams is most known for his positivity on the sidelines and professionalism throughout his coaching career.

The Buckeyes, who were 13-4 in 2013, won the ECAC Tournament and reached the NCAA quarterfinals, begin the 2014 season with exhibition games vs. Hill Academy (Jan. 18), Navy (Jan. 25) and Robert Morris (Feb. 1). The regular season begins at Johns Hopkins Feb. 9.