COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State fencing team is preparing to travel to Dallas, Texas, for the North American Cup C Jan. 14-17. This is the fourth NAC event of the season and first of 2011 for the Buckeyes. Results can be found at or here at

Following the tournament, Ohio State will compete in a series of dual matches, beginning Jan. 22 and 23 at the NYU Invitational and St. John’s Duals, respectively.

The Buckeyes finished strong at the Cincinnati, Ohio, NAC Oct. 15-18, 2010, claiming 13 Top 25 finishes. Top fencers on the men’s side included freshman Zain Shaito, who finished tied for third in foil, and junior Ognjen Vesic, who took seventh in epee. Sabreists Rhys Douglas and Max Stearns finished seventh and eighth, respectively.

Freshman Katarzyna Dabrowa was the standard on the women’s squad, tying for third in epee while sophomore Alison Miller earned ninth in sabre.

Sophomore Trevor Pedersen highlighted the trip for the Buckeyes at the Junior NAC, taking eighth in epee. Classmate Bryan Cheney turned in a Top 25 performance as well, taking 22nd in sabre.

Only fencers under age 20 were eligible to compete in the junior event.

Ohio State fencers performed well in the final NAC event of 2010, finishing with 10 fencers in the Top 25 of their events. Igor Tolkachev led the way for Ohio State, taking bronze in men’s epee. Teammates Eric Gurnowksi and Gavin Medley also claimed Top 25 finishes at seventh and 20th, respectively.

Shaito took 12th in foil, where a pair of former Buckeyes finished with Top 10 finishes. Ben Parkins (2008-2010) and Andras Horanyi (2006-2009) claimed eighth and 10th, respectively. Max Stearns earned fifth in men’s sabre.

In women’s sabre, Falencia Miller and Alison Miller combined to deliver two Top 10 finishes for the Buckeyes at seventh and 10th, respectively.

Division One North American Cup
Dallas, Texas
Jan. 14-17, 2011

Men’s Epee
Eric Gurnowski
Gavin Medley
Narayan Pathi
Trevor Pedersen
Daniel Tafoya
Igor Tolkachev
Dylan Walrond

Men’s Foil
Andrew McDonald
Zain Shaito

Men’s Sabre
Bryan Cheney
Ewan Douglas
Rhys Douglas
Max Stearns

Women’s Epee
Katarzyna Dabrowa
Caroline Piasecka

Women’s Foil
Isabella Bonello
Oksana Dmytruk
Allison Henvick
Fanni Ladoczki

Women’s Sabre
Emily Cheng
Alison Miller
Margarita Tschomakova