February 8, 2018

Ohio State Reaches 50 NFL Combine Invites under Urban Meyer


Feb. 8, 2018

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State University Buckeyes will be taking part in on-field drills and exercises every day at the 2018 NFL Scouting Combine as 11 players from the 2017 team, comprising six different position groups, have received official invites. The combine will be held in Indianapolis Feb. 27 through March 5 at Lucas Oil Stadium.

Buckeyes receiving invites are: LB Jerome Baker, QB J.T. Barrett, TE Marcus Baugh, DE Jalyn Holmes, DE Sam Hubbard, OT Jamarco Jones, DE Tyquan Lewis, C Billy Price, CB Denzel Ward, SAF Damon Webb and LB Chris Worley.

2018 NFL Scouting Combine On-Field Workout Schedule
• Friday, March 2 – Running Backs, Offensive Linemen, Placekicker and Special Teamers
• Saturday, March 3 – Quarterbacks, Wide Receivers, Tight Ends
• Sunday, March 4 – Defensive Linemen, Linebackers
• Monday, March 5 – Defensive Backs

Ohio State’s 2018 contingent increases the number of Buckeyes invited to the combine under Urban Meyer to 50, with 33 of those invites coming in the last three years.

Impressive and more impressive: Ohio State has had multiple players at all nine positions invited to the combine over the last six years; and nearly 80 percent of Ohio State’s players who received combine invites during this time – 31 of 39 – were selected in that year’s NFL Draft.

Ohio State’s NFL Combine Invites by Position – 2013-18
Defensive Back – 10 (six cornerbacks; four safeties)
Linebacker – 8
Defensive Line – 8
Offensive Line – 7
Wide Receiver – 7 (includes H-backs)
Tight End – 4
Running Back – 3
Quarterback – 2
Punter – 1

Ohio State’s NFL Combine Invites – 2013-18
*Indicates players selected in the NFL Draft

2018 (11)
LB Jerome Baker
QB J.T. Barrett
TE Marcus Baugh
DE Jalyn Holmes
DE Sam Hubbard
OT Jamarco Jones
DE Tyquan Lewis
C Billy Price
CB Denzel Ward
S Damon Webb
LB Chris Worley

2017 (8)
WR Noah Brown*
CB Gareon Conley*
C Pat Elflein*
SAF Malik Hooker*
P Cameron Johnston
CB Marshon Lattimore*
LB Raekwon McMillan*
H-B Curtis Samuel*

2016 (14)
CB Eli Apple*
SAF Vonn Bell*
DE Joey Bosa*
OT Taylor Decker*
RB Ezekiel Elliott*
QB Cardale Jones*
LB Darron Lee*
H-B Jalin Marshall
WR Braxton Miller*
LB Joshua Perry*
SAF Tyvis Powell
WR Michael Thomas*
TE Nick Vannett*
DT Adolphus Washington*

2015 (4)
DT Michael Bennett*
CB Doran Grant*
TE Jeff Heuerman*
WR Devin Smith*

2014 (6)
WR Corey Brown
RB Carlos Hyde*
C Corey Linsley*
OL Jack Mewhort*
CB Bradley Roby*
LB Ryan Shazier*

2013 (7)
FB Zach Boren
OT Reid Fragel*
DT Jonathan Hankins*
LB Etienne Sabino
LB John Simon*
TE Jake Stoneburner
DE Nathan Williams