COLUMBUS, Ohio – With all eight fall NCAA championships completed, Ohio State currently sits third in the 2010-11 Learfield Directors’ Cup Standings. The Buckeyes (369.00) have the highest ranking among Big Ten Conference schools and rank behind first-place Stanford (399.00) and second-place North Carolina (380.00) nationally.

Ohio State finished in the Top 25 nationally in football, field hockey, men’s soccer, women’s soccer and women’s volleyball, including three teams finishing the fall campaign in the Top 5. The Buckeyes are one of five Big Ten programs ranked in the Top 25, including Penn State (5th), Michigan (16th), Wisconsin (20th) and Indiana (22nd).

The 2010 fall will be remembered as one of the most successful seasons in Ohio State Athletics history. The Ohio State field hockey and women’s soccer teams led the way, earning 83 points each after advancing to the programs’ first NCAA Final Four appearances, finishing third overall. The Buckeye football team posted 75 points after its fifth-place finish with a Sugar Bowl victory. Both the men’s soccer and women’s volleyball teams earned 64 points each, placing ninth in the country. 

The field hockey team started the Buckeyes’ impressive fall season after advancing to its first Final Four in program history. Led by head coach Anne Wilkinson, the 2010 Dita/NFHCA West Region Coach of the Year, the Buckeyes won their third Big Ten regular season title in concluded the year with a program-high 18 victories. Junior Aisling Coyle was named a first team NFHCA All-American, while sophomore Berta Queralt was a third team selection. Freshman Paula Pastor-Pitarque was selected as Big Ten Freshman of the Year and, in all, Ohio State placed five players on the 2010 All-Big Ten teams.

Led by head coach Lori Walker, the women’s soccer team advanced to its first College Cup appearance and concluded the season with a 17-5-2 record, tallying the second-most wins in program history.  The Buckeyes also won their first Big Ten title in program history. Junior Paige Maxwell was named Offensive Player of the Year, senior Cassie Dickerson was Defensive Player of the Year and Walker was Big Ten Coach of the Year. In all, Ohio State placed six players on the 2010 All-Big Ten teams.

The football team wrapped up its sixth-consecutive Big Ten championship with a 37-7 victory over Michigan to close out the regular season. Jim Tressel’s team reached its sixth-consecutive BCS bowl and its ninth overall, the most among FBS schools, defeating Arkansas, 31-26, in the AllState Sugar Bowl Jan. 4 in New Orleans, La. Ten Buckeyes were named first team All-Big Ten honorees, including Dan Herron, Dane Sanzenbacher, Mike Adams, Cameron Heyward, Ross Homan, Brian Rolle, Chimdi Chekwa, Jermale Hines, Michael Brewster and Justin Boren.

Under 14th-year head coach John Bluem, the men’s soccer team advanced to the third round of the NCAA championship and concluded its season with an 11-6-3 record. Junior defender David Tiemstra was named a second team All-American by College Soccer News, and a member of the second team by both and Top Drawer Soccer. Freshman Matt Lampson and Konrad Warzycha each earned a spot on the first team All-Great lakes Region, while Tiemstra, the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, was a second team honoree. In all, five players earned Big Ten honors in 2010.

Led by head coach Geoff Carlston, the women’s volleyball team closed out 2010 with a 24-12 overall record and advanced to the NCAA Regional semifinals. Senior Katie Dull and Kelli Barhorst were named as honorable mention selections to the Mideast all-Region team. Dull also was named to the All-Big Ten team for the second-consecutive season, while Barhorst was an All-Big Ten honorable mention selection.

The Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup was developed as a joint effort between the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) and USA Today. Points are awarded based on each institution’s finish in up to 20 sports — 10 women’s and 10 men’s.

The first Winter Division I standings will be released Thursday, March 24, 2011. All standings published midseason are unofficial, as official standings will be published upon the completion of the spring season. Complete standings and the scoring structure can be found on NACDA’s website at