Buckeyes set to compete at the Central Regional hosted by Notre Dame

Follow the Buckeyes on Twitter at “OhioState_WGOLF” 

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s golf team earned its 17th-consecutive bid to an NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Regional, the NCAA Women’s Golf Committee announced Monday. The 31st-ranked and 10th-seeded Buckeyes will travel to Notre Dame, Ind., to compete in the 54-hole Central Regional May 5-7.

The eight top teams and the two lowest-scoring individuals out of each regional will qualify for the NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Championship. The national meet is set to be held May 18-21 at the Traditions Club in Bryan, Texas.

Ohio State is one of 24 teams competing at the Warren Golf Course hosted by Notre Dame. The Buckeyes will be joined by five other Big Ten teams in the regional – Northwestern, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, Illinois – and Indiana’s Lindsay Gahm will be competing as an individual. Michigan State earned a spot in the East Regional hosted by Stetson.

The Buckeyes have faced 16 of the 24 regional teams this season and hold a 29-22 record against the competition, including winning records against nine squads.

Last year, Ohio State finished 12th at the 2010 West Regional held at the Stanford Golf Course in Stanford, Calif. Sophomore Rachel Rohanna led the Buckeyes at the three-day tournament, finishing tied for 30th with a score of 225.

The Scarlet and Gray enter the regional after finishing fifth last weekend at the Big Ten Championships. A trio of Buckeyes finished tied for 11th in senior In Hong Lim, junior Vicky Villanueva and sophomore Susana Benavides.

The complete NCAA tournament field can be found on

NCAA Central Regional Field

The Central regional will be played May 5-7 at the Warren Golf Course, Notre Dame, Ind., hosted by Notre Dame. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

2. Duke
3. LSU
4. Arkansas
5. Wake Forest
6. Texas (Big 12)
7. Tulane
8. Stanford
9. Notre Dame (Big East)
10. Ohio State
11. Kent State (Mid-American)
12. Chattanooga (Southern)
13. Northwestern
14. Minnesota
15. UNLV
16. Oklahoma State
17. North Texas
18. Wisconsin
19. East Carolina
20. Michigan
21. Illinois
22. Morehead State (Ohio Valley)
23. Illinois State (Missouri Valley)
24. Butler (Horizon)

1. Harin Lee (St. John’s (NY))
2. Lindsay Gahm (Indiana)
3. Bonnie Hu (Harvard)
4. Nina Muehl (E. Tennessee State)
5. Brittany Kelly (Ball State)
6. Britney Hamilton (Western Michigan)