February 22, 2018

Ohio State Prepped for Big Ten Championships


Feb. 22, 2018

Columbus, Ohio – The Ohio State track and field team will face off against the rest of the Big Ten this Friday and Saturday, Feb. 23-24, at the Big Ten Championships in Geneva, Ohio. For the sixth-straight year, the conference meet will be held at the Spire Institute.

Championships Need to Knows
Championship Central | Meet Schedule | Live Results | Day One Stream | Day Two Stream

The two-day meet will be streamed live on BTN2Go and FloTrack. On Monday evening (Feb. 26), tape-delayed coverage of the meet will air on the Big Ten Network at 8 p.m. ET.

Buckeye History at the Big Ten Championships
The Ohio State men have won five Big Ten indoor championships and 131 individual/event titles since joining the Big Ten Conference in 1913, the last team title coming in 1993 under Russ Rogers.

At the last year’s Big Ten meet, Nick Gray, then a sophomore, broke his own meet record in the 200m dash on his way to winning his second-consecutive 200m dash B1G title with a readout of 20.58. Nick Demaline will be on the hunt for his first career B1G indoor title this weekend; he’ll throw the shot put on Friday at 5:30 p.m. ET. Ohio State has four other returning scorers from the 2017 B1G indoor meet – Alex Lomong (800m run), Asa Burke (4x400m relay), Cole Gorski (pole vault) and DaJuan Seward (triple jump). The men enter the meet ranked No. 19 in the latest USTFCCCA poll.

Rogers led the track and field program to new heights in the early 1990s as the Buckeyes claimed seven Top-4 finishes at the indoor championships from 1990-1996. Ohio State’s first title came in 1942 under Larry Snyder. Snyder guided the Scarlet and Gray to three-consecutive titles from 1948-1950.

Three Buckeyes have earned the Big Ten Athlete of the Championships award: Aaron Payne (1991), Andrew Pierce (2001) and Dan Taylor (2003).

The Ohio State women have won two Big Ten indoor titles, the most recent coming in 2015, and claimed a third-place finish at the 2017 B1G meet with 83 points. The women have scooped up 74 individual/event titles since the Big Ten meet started in 1978.

Sade Olatoye had a monster 2017 B1G meet winning titles in the shot put and weight throw to become the first woman in program history to achieve that feat. Following the meet, Olatoye was named the Female Field Athlete of the Championships joining the likes of Donica Merriman (2000 & 2001), Bridgette Tate (1988) and Christina Manning (2011 & 2012), all three of whom were named the Female Track Athlete of their respective championship meets.

In addition to Olatoye’s title in 2017, Karrington Winters claimed her first-career individual B1G title in the 600m run with a school record time of 1:27.60. Annie Ubbing, who took seventh place in the same event with a readout of 1:30.47, will make the trip to Geneva, Ohio, this week as well for the Buckeyes.

The Buckeye women have slew of other returning scorers from 2017 that will look to contribute in the team standings – Bliss Soleyn (60m dash), Halimah Barlow (200m dash), Maggie Barrie (400m dash and 4x400m relay), Sarah Kanney (mile), Tamani Wilson (DMR), Beatrice Hannan (4x400m relay), Chantel Ray (60m hurdles), Taylor DeLoach (long jump), Mikaela Seibert (triple jump), Olivia Small (triple jump), Lyne’a Diller (shot put), Madison Roberts (pole vault) and Alexus Pyles (heptathlon).

Manning owns the current meet record in the 60-meter hurdles (7.95). Two Ohio State indoor championship records have been retired: Diane Dixon’s 300-yard run in 1983 (33.83) and Tate’s 60-yard hurdle performance in 1987 (7.78). The 2015 title run was aided by Katie Borchers’ school and meet record of 2:04.31 in the 800m run. 

Potential Point Scorers
The Buckeyes enter the Big Ten Championships with numerous opportunities to rack up points at the conference meet. In order to score points in an event, an athlete must place inside the top eight for their respective events.

Women Ranked Inside Top 10 in Big Ten
Sade Olatoye – No. 1 (shot put) and No. 2 (weight throw)
Chantel Ray – No. 1 (60m hurdles)
Mikaela Seibert – No. 3 – triple jump
4x400m Relay – No. 3
Karrington Winters – No. 4 (400m dash)
Anavia Battle – No. 4 (60m dash) and No. 4 (200m dash)
Distance Medley Relay – No. 5
Halimah Barlow – No. 5 (60m dash)
Maggie Barrie – No. 6 (400m dash) and No. 6 (60m dash)
Madison Roberts – No. 6 – pole vault
Taylor DeLoach – No. 7 (long jump), No. 8 (60m dash) and No. 10 (200m dash)
Annie Ubbing – No. 7 (600m run)
Aziza Ayoub – No. 7 (800m run)
Courtney Clody – No. 9 (600m run)
Christine Frederick – No. 10 (mile run) 

Men Ranked Inside Top 10 in Big Ten
Kendall Sheffield – No. 1 – 60m dash
Zack Bazile – No. 1 (long jump), No. 3 (60m dash) and No. 4 (triple jump)
Nick Demaline – No. 1 – shot put
Cole Gorski – No. 2 – pole vault
Nick Gray – No. 2 (60m dash) and No. 2 (200m dash)
4x400m Relay – No. 2
DaJuan Seward – No. 3 (triple jump) and No. 4 (60m hurdles)
Coty Cobb – No. 3 – pole vault
Alex Lomong – No. 3 – 800m run
Eric Harrison Jr. – No. 6 (60m dash) and No. 8 (200m dash)
Distance Medley Relay – No. 6
Aaron Zedella – No. 7 – weight throw
Brent Carroll – No. 7 – 60m hurdles
Drelan Bramwell – No. 8 – 400m dash
Max Seipel – No. 8 – shot put

Live Updates
For live updates during the meet, follow @OhioState_TFXC on Twitter.