May 10, 2004

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Jim Brown, Ohio State head coach, and the Buckeye men’s golf team were selected to play in the 2004 NCAA Men’s Golf Central Regional as the automatic qualifier from the Big Ten Conference Monday. Ohio State, by virtue of its 2004 Big Ten Tournament victory last weekend, was one of 28 conference champions to receive an automatic bid to regional competition.

The Purdue University Birck Boilermaker Golf Course in West Lafayette, Ind., will serve as the Central Regional Course.

The championships will be conducted June 1-4 at Cascades Golf Course, The Homestead in Hot Springs, Va. Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University is the host institution for the championships this year.

Three regional tournaments, encompassing the current nine regions, will be conducted May 20-22. A total of 27 teams and six individuals have been selected for each regional competition with 10 teams and two individuals advancing from each regional to the championships finals.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the championships from the central region. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

CENTRAL REGIONAL Birck Boilermaker Golf Course in West Lafayette, Indiana Hosted by Purdue University

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Oklahoma State
2. Texas (Big 12)
3. TCU (C-USA)
4. Minnesota
5. Oklahoma
6. Kentucky
7. Arkansas
8. Kansas
9. Tulsa
10. Colorado
11. Southern Methodist (WAC)
12. Texas Tech
13. Kansas State
14. Baylor
15. Texas A&M
16. Xavier
17. Illinois
18. Ohio State (Big Ten)
19. Purdue
20. Kent State
21. Wichita State (Missouri Valley)
22. Indiana
23. Lamar
24. Notre Dame (Big East)
25. Princeton (Ivy)
26. Western Illinois (Mid-Continent)
27. Jackson State (SWAC)

1. Mike Mezei, Texas-San Antonio
2. Tom Johnson, Northwestern
3. Jeremy Lyons, Iowa State
4. Zach Mowbray, Houston
5. Zach Atkinson, North Texas
6. Brandon Brown, Eastern Kentucky