January 5, 2017

Ohio State Opens 2017 Campaign with Dual Meet at Pittsburgh


Jan. 5, 2017

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio State women’s gymnastics team opens its 48th season when it travels to Pittsburgh for a dual meet at 6:30 p.m. Saturday.

Live video and results can be found on the women’s gymnastics schedule page at OhioStateBuckeyes.com or fans can follow Twitter.com/OhioState_WGYM for updates.

A LOOK AT 2017
The Buckeyes return 10 letterwinners off the 2016 NCAA Regional squad and welcome a cast of four newcomers. Included in the 10 returning letterwinners are Kaitlyn Hofland, Alexis Mattern and Jamie Stone, a trio of second team All-Big Ten selections from a season ago.

Ohio State opens the season just outside the Top 25 of the 2017 NACGC/W Preseason Coaches’ poll at No. 27. Other Big Ten teams in the presason poll include No. 7 Michigan, No. 12 Nebraska, No. 16 Minnesota, No. 22 Iowa, No. 23 Penn State and No. 24 Illinois.

The Buckeyes also host and travel to No. 14 Denver Feb. 24 and March 4 and host No. 20 Washington at part of a quad meet Jan. 14.

Ohio State was selected seventh in the Big Ten Preseason Coaches’ Poll, the conference office announced Dec. 15. In addition, redshirt sophomore Kaitlyn Hofland and freshman Olivia Aepli were named gymnasts to watch in the conference.

The Buckeyes were picked behind Michigan, Nebraska, Minnesota, Illinois, Iowa and Penn State.

Season tickets, on sale now, include a ticket to each of the four home meets and are just $32 for adults and $20 for youth. Single-meet tickets also are on sale now at $8 for adults and $5 for youth.

For more information about the benefits of purchasing season tickets, or to purchase season tickets, contact the Athletic Ticket Sales Team by phone at 1-800-GOBUCKS (select option 2) or by e-mail at AthleticSales@osu.edu to speak with an account executive.

For more information on Ohio State women’s gymnastics tickets, visit http://www.ohiostatebuckeyes.com/tickets/w-gym-information.html.

The Buckeyes open their home slate in a quad-meet against Michigan, Washington and Kent State at 4 p.m. Jan. 14 at St. John Arena.