COLUMBUS, Ohio – Seniors Kurt Coleman, Austin Spitler and Doug Worthington were elected as 2009 captains of the Ohio State football team, as announced to the squad today.  An offensive game captain will be selected each week.

“This is an honor – I’m so blessed to be in this position,” said Coleman, a four-year safety from Dayton, Ohio (Northmont) who is majoring in sport and leisure studies. “It’s not just a title – I want to lead our team the best way I can to make sure we reach our potential.”

“It’s a blessing to be able to represent this team,”said Worthington, a fifth-year defensive lineman from Athol Springs, N.Y. (St. Francis HS) who is a communications major. “I’m just an extension of the seniors and coaching staff. It’s a great honor.”

“I’m honored and truly grateful to be in this position,” said Spitler, a fifth-year linebacker from Bellbrook, Ohio (Bellbrook HS) who will graduate Sunday with a bachelor’s degree in communications. “I want to lead this team to best of my abilities; hopefully we’ll go far.”

The last time Ohio State had only defensive players as permanent captains was in 2002, when Mike Doss and Donnie Nickey were captains of the national championship squad.

The 2009 Buckeyes open the season Saturday, September 5, hosting Navy in a noon game at Ohio Stadium. That contest will be televised by ESPN.