May 2, 2005

The Ohio State men’s swimming and diving team held its annual spring banquet to celebrate the accomplishments the team made throughout the 2004-05 season. Several team awards were announced at the banquet.

Rob Kauscher (Sr., Cincinnati, Ohio/Anderson) was the recipient of the team’s Bill and Mae McCorkle Award for the most outstanding swimmer. Kauscher led the team both during the dual-meet season and in post-season action. For a majority of the season, Kauscher was nationally ranked in both the 100- and 200-yard breaststroke events. At the conference meet, Kauscher competed in both and recorded Ohio State’s second-fastest time in history in each. Kauscher went on to make his first trip to the NCAA championships in the same two events.

Mitch Richeson (Sr., Greenwood, Ind./Greenwood) was awarded the Miller Anderson Award for the most valuable diver. Richeson won 10 boards during the dual-meet season, including six on the 1-meter board and on four separate occasions he won both boards. In Big Ten championship action, Richeson opened the competition with a Big Ten title on the 1-meter board and a runner-up spot on the 3-meter. At the NCAA qualifiers, he repeated the first-place finish on the 1-meter and the second-place spot on the 3-meter. He returned to the diving well at the NCAA championships to earn All-America honors with a seventh-place finish in the 1-meter and an eighth-place finish in the 3-meter.

Matt Voelker (Fr., Columbus, Ohio/Upper Arlington) was named the most promising freshman through the Mike Cochran Award. Voelker recorded the season-fastest time in the 50-yard freestyle at the Big Ten championships. Voelker also was a member of two relay teams that recorded the season-fastest time.

Both Brian Tiemeier (Jr., Cincinnati, Ohio/LaSalle) and R.J. Lemyre (So., Columbus, Ohio/Upper Arlington) were honored with the Carl Wirthwein Award for the most improved swimmer. Tiemeier competed in the Big Ten championships placing 13th in the 200-yard individual medley. Lemyre maintained the season’s fastest time in the 100-yard backstroke and was a member of the season-fastest 200-yard medley relay team. Winning the Skilken Award for the spirit of giving was Daniel Novak (Fr., Sao Paulo, Brazil/Foothill Knight). Novak competed in the Big Ten championships and raced in numerous dual-meet individual wins for the Buckeyes.

Honored with the Leo Portalance Award for varsity captain was Chris Stoneburg (Jr., Copley, Ohio/Akron Firestone). Stoneburg competed in the Big Ten meet in the butterfly and the backstroke. In the 100-yard backstroke, he placed 17th with a time of 50.46.

Nate King (So., Youngstown, Ohio/Warren Harding) was awarded the Mike Peppe Award for the coach’s award. King holds both season-best times in the 200- and 400-yard individual medley, recorded at the Big Ten meet. At the Big Ten championships, King surpassed the fastest time in Ohio State history in the 200-yard individual medley at 1:48.29.

Finally, Joe Doyle (So., Centerburg, Ohio/Centerburg) earned the Coach John Bruce Award for his commitment to excellence. Doyle competed in the conference meet and clocked in the team’s season-best time in the 200-yard freestyle, as well as carrying a leg in two of the team’s fastest relay times.